top of page
Search
  • Sherry Wise

Movie Review : The Book Of Life


Okay, since it is not a Pixar or DreamWorks animation moive so I don't expect much from this this one. To me it is a fun movie to watch with all the messages and what not but it is not as strong. The characters were okay, the story line was okay you know, it is like a mix of Coco and Ferdinand. I know it is not fair to compare it to those two movies because The Book of Life was released back in 2014. I don't have much to say but as I said before, it is a cute movie to watch. Nothing too emotional and I'm kinda dig all the songs featured in this movie, the songs you can actually singalong to.

When watching an animated movie, my only goal is to cry while watching it and the only scene that got me almost forcing myself to cry was when Manolo apologized to all the bulls his family had killed during the bullfighting in the past. Oh ya, Manolo is a young man who inspired to be a musician but his family wanted him to continue their family tradition by being a bullfighter.

You see, the message is very clear that if you forgive people, you'll find peace. If you apologize, you are a strong person! To those who haven't watch this movie yet, you can watch it whenever you have a free time. I'll give this movie 3/5 stars. Plus I'm not really into on how they portray the characters as wooden dolls. I think that was why I wasn't able to relate much because the characters didn't feel alive. You know what I mean? Toy Story was a different thing because it tells the story of the toys (duhh). But this movie is telling the story about human relation but being portrayed by wooden dolls? Okay.

But they did have a great cast though.

P/S: Any other movie you would like me to watch?

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

ILLUMINAKING

-Since 2017-

©2017 by illuminaking. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page