top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFaiz Faisal

After 5 Years


Semalam dah lima tahun ayah pergi. It was 7th April 2013 when my life changed forever. So in honour of remembering my father, I want to talk about on of the traits I got from my father. Selalu orang ingat anak bongsu rapat dengan mak but actually I'm closest to my father out of everyone in my family and my brother is closer to my mom. So back to the trait I got from my father, my father bukan jenis yang suka share the problems yang dia went through and I think that is why I'm also like that. Sebab I rarely dengar my father ever talk about his problem or complaint about anything at all. So growing up, I see my father as someone yang tak ada masalah and living his life but and the very end of his life, I started to see the vulnerable side of him. Mungkin it was most probably sebab in his younger day, ayah sibuk with work and all so he doesn't really think about other problems but work. Sekarang I'm like that, I don't really address the problems now but I think in future when I got nothing much to do, I might reminisce about all the problems that yang belum selesai. Because I totally see that in my father after he retired and stayed at home with his grandchildren. For that, I really want to let all my problems be addressed in the very early stage of my life so it won't affect me as much later in my life.

It was so sad to see my father as happy as he was during his working days. Not that he was defeated after he retired but you can see the different. Walaupun I can sense that he was thinking about something or problems, ayah still nak the best untuk anak-anak dia. He always cracked a joke and being sarcastic (another trait I got from him). So yeah, I miss that little teased I got from him and we had a debate once about Lady Gaga. It was fun because unlike me, my father's general knowledge is wide. For someone his age to be able to talk about current topic like Lady Gaga? I really think no other father in this world would want to have that conversation with their kids. My father did and I'm happy.

I want to remember my father as someone yang happy, funny and sarcastic because he was all that!

P/S: Sarcastic people are the most vulnerable people there is.

7 views0 comments
bottom of page