top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFaiz Faisal

ILLUMINAKING : 5 Things I believed As a Child


Growing up, we all have been told lies by someone older be it our siblings, parents or friends. Often they told us lies because they want something out of it or just poking fun at us. I do that most of the time now because I love to see people's reaction. I'm known for this among my friends, so there are time they be like "are you for real?' but most of the time they believe what I said.

Apart from lies, there are things that I've been misunderstood because I made assumption out of it and thinking to myself that my assumptions were true. When I realized it was not true, I look back and wonder why would I made that kind of assumptions?

So here are the 5 things that I used to (or still do) believe that I've been told or the assumptions that I've made that made me believe it was real.

5) Islands float

Okay this one was all on me! No one ever told me that islands float but somehow I told myself that it was. I used to believe that the islands float across the sea and we get to see it whenever it floats near us. But come on for a kid that age, I was doing some serious thinking about how this world is functioning right? It was when I was in primary school around 10 or 11 I learnt the fact that island is actually the tip of an underwater mountain (or I just made that up again?).

4) The seeds will grow in your tummy!

Who in this world was not told about this? but till today I have a tiny bit of faith that seed can grow inside your tummy. I don't know but I remember how freaked out I was back then when my family told a watermelon was going to grow inside me. I mean I don't to give birth to a watermelon that talks so of course I was freaking out. I cried asking everyone how to get the seeds out of my tummy. Thank God there was no Rupaul Drag Race back then or else I would have asked "Is there an anal option?"

3) Bite the 'Duku' seed to see Kaabah

As a kid who was willing to try anything to be closer to God, I'll do whatever it takes to have a peek of the Holy Kaabah (though I was so reluctant to go to religious classes back then) and my family told me that if I bite the 'Duku' seed, I can see the Holy Kaabah when I close my eyes. So being myself who wanted things the easy way. I closed my eyes and chew on the seed! The bitterness of the seed lingered on my tongue for the rest of the day and I swore I felt like I was poisoned and my family actually wanted to kill me. Who the hell does that?

2) The world used to be Black and White

I was watching classic P.Ramlee's films and it was a black and white film. So the innocent little me asked my mom, "was it always black and white back then?" and my mom answered me without hesitation (key to make people believe in your lie is not to hesitate!) 'Yes everything was black and white until one day the sun risen and suddenly everything was coloured by the sun'. I was in awe and amazed on how the sun can paint the world with it's ray of light (a little Madonna reference there). Now I felt stupid because I realized that in the movie, they actually mentioned the colour of the clothes they're wearing and the colour of the sky and the trees. But after looking at Detox black and white realness, I believe it is possible that the world could be black and white.

1) Kids are not allowed in Makro

Well first of all you all know that I'm old because I was there during Makro reigned supreme as one of the first market place to enter Malaysia. When I was young, when my parents wanted to buy groceries at Makro, they told me that kids were not allowed or else the guard will capture you and cut of your limbs and sell your organs. Little brutal to tell your kids that no? but seriously, my parents told me that and that's why whenever they said they're going to Makro, I'll be like okay I'll stay home but just buy me Happy Meal that's all. So after sometime, I was a 12 years old kid and followed my parents to Makro and I saw a bunch of kids running around and no one was chasing them and cut their limbs off and seel htier organs. My parents were slicked!

P/S: What lies you were told and still believe till today? let me guess, Sajat is a woman?

7 views0 comments
bottom of page