top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFaiz Faisal

What Kind of Boss are you?


It has been 8 months now since I started working with Kidxy. I must admit that the first 6 month was hell of a ride. Mainly because as a startup company, we don't have much manpower so everyone got to do a little bit of everything and I almost died due to deep stress (it's true!). But last month, we got 4 interns on board to help out and as a content person, I really need some help to bounce off ideas because one person can only think so much right? Since dah ada interns helping me out, dapat lah saya planned out everything accordingly and things are getting much easier. Thank God for that! Talking about having interns helping me out, I remembered the time when I was an intern like 3 years ago and now I'm handling interns? I feel so old right now help me face reality please?

So back to my title for today's post, 'what type of boss are you going to be?' an unexpected question from my senior manager. I was like 'huh?'. She then proceed with another question 'are you going to be a strict boss or a cool boss?' this question took me straight to this scene in Mean Girls where Regina's mom told her friends that 'Im not like the other mom, I'm a cool mom.' I almost gave my senior manager that answer before I realized I don't want to sound dumb. So I asked her why are you asking me all this? She said one day you're going to be a boss and you should decide what kind of a boss you want to be. Isn't this too early for me to decide? aren't boss supposed to be old people aged 40 years old and above? I can barely manage my life and how the hell am I going to manage other people?

Masa zaman study buat group assignment pun kalau jadi team leader, team saya pun kucar-kacir je. Dengan saya ni yang jenis kurang sabar dengan orang which whenever I think people don't understand, I'll just nod my head and agree with them. Oh Tuhan Ku, I know the time will come where I need to actually manage my own team (InsyaAllah) but nak buat macam mana? Macam mana nak prepare diri ini? So start from now dah kena fikir nak jadi leader yang macam mana and from what I know about myself is, I think I'm going to be someone yang don't care how you're going to do your job as long as you get it done and by done I mean it is done the way I want it to be done. Too picky? gosh I hope people don't hate me because that is the thing I'm scared of, for people to hate me.

I'm done freaking out and now I just need inspiration!

P/S: I'm watching series pasal lawyers to help boost my confidence!

3 views0 comments
bottom of page