top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFaiz Faisal

Monday Mind: Toastmasters Session


Last Thursday, I joined the second Toastmasters session held at my office. I wasn't aware of the first session because they conducted it after working hours and I was already on the road heading back home. I wasn't expecting anything because my plan was to just join and see how the session is being conducted since I've heard that this toastmasters thing is very good for you to practice you public speaking skills.

When I though I was there only as an audience, boy I was wrong. They included me in the table topic session and I was given 30 seconds to come up with a 60 seconds speech on 'what is my favorite holiday?' or something like that. As someone who hasn't been traveling anywhere before, the only thing I can think of was my recent trip to Bali. But still I can't say much and that was the longest 60 seconds of my life. I was nervous as hell and I swear I was about to pass out and I was shaking.

However during the feedback session, I was surprised that they said I was calm and confident. One of them even said that I look so sure about what I was talking that if I was telling lies and people would buy it. But another feedback that I got was ' I'm blessed to have been born with a cocky face ' so that's why when I talk, I look so sure about the things I'm talking about. Well it was nothing new really, the cocky face feedback was the first thing I got from every new persons I've met.

The recent feedback that I got quite a lot lately is I'm a cranky person. I didn't notice how I'm answering to people until one of my interns asked me things and I answered her and she was like ' why are you mad? ' then only the others started to agree and said 'Yeah why are answering people like you're mad?' I really need to work this out because cocky face and looking mad are not a good combo okay!

I'm looking forward for the next session and I hope I'll look more of a human next time I'm answering to people's inquiries.

P/S: My friends know that I can be a little crazy and playful. Right friends?

18 views0 comments
bottom of page