top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFaiz Faisal

ILLUMINAKING: My Tribe


If you're like me then it is probably hard for you to make friends at a new place. I'm always that awkward person who doesn't know what to say or when to say things in my head so I ended up being so quite till people think that I'm a shy person or also known as anti-social. But God knows how talkative I can be and how silly I really am inside but it only happens when I'm with my tribe.

So today, I finally found my tribe at my workplace after almost a year and a half working there. I mean no offense to those who've been around me since day one but I what I mean about 'my tribe' is that someone is exactly me 100%. We can talk shitty stuff as if it is really happening and we can improv things in a blink of an eye and so much more.

I don't want to make it obvious that I need people like me for me to function so I tried to adapt to my surrounding but when you're trying so hard to adapt, you lost the essence of who you really are and eventually you become this person you don't like. I really hate who I've become this past year I've been working here. Now I finally found people who speak my language, my mind and soul. These people understand how I function and whenever I share my problem with them, I can see that they really truly understand what it's like to do what I'm doing.

It's not like I haven't share my struggles before but previously when I shared my struggles, the only thing they can do is telling me "If you need help, you let me know" when it is clearly that I need help and that's why I'm telling you why I'm struggling but I'm not the kind of person who is going to tell people that I have a lot of things on my plate because I also know that other people also have a lot on theirs.

All I can say now is I'm happy that I found my 'tribe' and I really hope that I can push myself a little bit more now that I have people who understand how I function. Thank you so much for your understanding.

P/S: Sometimes I don't really need any help whenever I share my struggles, I just need people to understand what I'm going through.

12 views0 comments
bottom of page