top of page
Search
  • Sherry Wise

Cancelling Culture


Actually I've been thinking about writing on this issue for quite some time but I didn't have the time to do so. Now since the beauty community is having a drama going on and the Netizens had witnessed one of the biggest 'cancellation' ever in online history. Yes I'm talking about the threesome actions we never asked for between James Charles, Tati and Jeffree.

So if you guys are following these beauty gurus on YouTube, I assume you guys already know about the drama between them. Now I'm asking you guys is this cancel culture good or bad? For me it is a little bit of both. How is good and why is it bad?

First of all it is good if the person we are cancelling is toxic and give bad influence to other people and it can be bad if that person is actually being set up. I don't want to further elaborate on the drama between the beauty gurus but I want to talk about how we as society are actually the toxic one. Most people immediately jump into the bandwagon without actually have a real context as to why are people behaving a certain way. This can be seen in the James Charles scandal, I mean most people don't even know what really happened (including me) and just join the majority in cancelling James. For me I have some mutual reason with Tati at the time, which is James as a gay man who preys on straight man. I've been very vocal about this to all my gay friends. I don't agree with gay man preying on straight man, yes you can fantasize about them and that's it. Don't harass them and creep them out because there are plenty of single gay men out there. That's the only reason why I was part of the #JamesIsOverParty movement.

James already came out with receipts and now people are quickly to 'uncancelled' him and saying that Jeffree and Tati are in the wrong. Amazing how people can have a change of heart that quickly right? I mean I'm not picking sides because I don't really follow these people on daily basis but my fight has always been about going against gay man preying on straight man. James also admitted that he did texted straight guys and what not and he promised not to discuss about that in the future and I applaud him for admitting his mistakes.

Actually I can't say that I've cancelled James because I was never a fan of his but yeah I'm cancelling his attitude. So looking into this issue and what I can conclude about cancel culture is that, it can be a good thing as long as you know your purpose in 'cancelling' someone. Don't just simply jump into the bandwagon because everyone is doing it, know the whole context and have a stand. Why I'm saying all this is because I was once got 'cancelled' by my friends. I was cancelled for almost a year just because my friends only hear one side of the story.

I'm a firm believer that truth will speak for itself so I choose not to say anything about the person who spread stories about me and eventually my friends know the whole truth and they came back. So yeah know the whole story and don't do it just because everyone else are doing it.

Cancel with purpose. (This can be a good PSA!)

P/S: I appreciate people who come to me to get to know me personally.

23 views0 comments
bottom of page