top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFaiz Faisal

Balance


In the words of Cheryl Cole "Too much of anything can make you sick, Even the good can be a curse" and from the wise words of Spice Girls "Too much of something is bad enough". This further proves that in life, we should have balance. You work too much, you died. You rest too much, you lose. You speak too much, you're annoying. You're too quite, you're forgotten.

But to find balance in life is not easy. We've all been there right? So what can we do to find balance in life? I've tried this and I'm still not sure if my life is balanced or not. But looking to everything that is happening now. I don't think I have a balance life. I've tried to have a balance work & life but I think I haven't reach that state yet. I still do work after working hours. I still have to brainstorm during my break. I really want to have that balance because I need to look after my physical and emotional health too.

If I don't brainstorm or do my work after working hours, I will not have time to complete my work. Like it or not, I have to work after my working hours. Not that I'm complaining but I think this can be solved through mutual understanding. Everything can be solved through mutual understanding actually. It is just that I find it hard to make people understand me. Because no matter how many time I've told them my struggles and problems, the answers were the same, they said I need to find balance. How?

Working in creative industry doesn't necessarily need a proper planning. I mean you can plan after a thorough research and idealization process but most of the time, you will need to be and get inspired before you can come up with something. Yes I can plan out what I want to post tomorrow or even next month but the plan is just something in the surface. I can only express my plans on the surface whereby I should've planned things out on how to execute all the plans. Yes I can say I want to post a video next week, but have I thought it through on who is available to do shooting? Who is going to do the research on the topic for the video? Is one week enough to edit a video? I haven't got that chance to thoroughly plan things out because I have limited manpower to help me.

So how can I find balance and where can I find balance? My colleagues all have works on their plates. Not to mention they also have immediate help or in a simpler word, they work in pairs. I know they'll love to help me out but for me to ask for help, I would at least need a framework for them to work on and for me to work on that framework already took some of my times. For once, I just want people to work solely based on my ideas just like how I've been working solely based on theirs sometimes.

Help me out, I don't know how else am I going to voice out my problems because I'm bad at telling people my problems face to face and I hate to speak the awful truth because I know it will look bad on me and also I don't want to hurt people's feeling. I need help!

P/S: Should I text my former manager about this?

7 views0 comments
bottom of page