top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFaiz Faisal

ILLUMINAKING: Why I Quit Driving?


It has been six months now since I last drove to work on daily basis. I've always been that person who loves to be behind the wheels and just drive because driving can be very therapeutic to me especially those midnight drive. Other than being along in my room, driving is also a place for me to express myself. These two places represent two different setting.

When I'm alone in my room, I'll get into a very physical expression that involves a lot of movements. When I'm in my car, it is more of a interview-ish setting as if I'm in a press conference or something. That's why I love driving because it is one of the ways I can express myself because I rarely express myself to other people except here but no one actually read whatever I wrote here so... yeah.

The reason why I quit driving is because of the traffic here in KL is insane! What supposed to be therapeutic for me has now become one of the things that contributing to my daily stress. Enough with lack of sleep, feeling clueless trying to figure out how to sort out my work and life, personal issues and I'm not going to let KL's crazy traffic stressing me out. I know the traffic is unavoidable but the main issue here is the drivers! I've cursed more that all the rappers in the world combine within my drive back from work. I think I've even invented several new cursing words.

So now I've decided to retire from driving to work and in KL. It's not like I'm not going to drive ever because I still need to get things done and KL's public transportation is not 100% reliable yet. There are places in KL that I can't reach with public transport.

But I can still drive long distance like to Penang or Johor or wherever outside KL. So if you want to have like a trip to somewhere and in need of a driver, I'm your man okay?

P/S: KL's traffic also makes me want to quit life sometimes!

5 views0 comments
bottom of page