top of page
Search
  • King Marc

Movie Review: The Grudge


Okay I have always been a fan of horror movies and I was waiting for this new take on The Grudge since last year. I thought they were going to release it somewhere in Halloween or what not but it didn't happened. So the new release date was announced and it is in January, what a weird time to release a horror movie but whatever rocks your boat right.

If you have seen the trailer, you know this movie got the right casts and tone to it. So yeah I was hecking excited because I was so bummed with the first two Hollywood remakes. This movie to me is not actually a remake but more to direct sequel/spin-off of the original (Japanese) Ju-On. This might be a spoiler but whatever, the movie started with a caretaker who has been in the original Ju-On house in Japan before she went back to the States bringing the curse back with her.

Now the house she stayed has been curse and whoever stepped foot inside that house will die, same like those who went into the house in Japan. So basically Kayako and Toshiro have become US citizens but in the form of an American family. The movie was so slow and the ghost were funny. They're not scary at all! The jump scares were lazy and expected and I feel like sleeping the whole time. It was a bit gory yes but there's not much to it.

I was left disappointed with the movie and honestly the best thing about this movie was the trailer. So save yourself some money and just enjoy the trailer okay? Overall, I give this movie 1.5/5 Stars.

P/S: Should I be excited for Underwater?

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page