top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFaiz Faisal

Fashion Tuesday: How I Started


Whenever I told people that I’ve been making my own Baju Raya, they always asked me if I have a formal education in fashion or something but I don’t. I wish I had because I remember the time where I told my parents about pursuing fashion but they said fashion is just my hobby and I should go and learn something ‘serious’. Well I don’t regret listening to them because at least I have knowledge in other fields too while still pursuing fashion on my own.

I started sewing back in school, I mean more like stitching holes on my school pants and what not. But from there, I develop this passion to create something. So, I started to DIY some old clothes and turned them into something new. Then I started to design so clothes and sent them to the tailor but most of them didn’t deliver so I feel like I need to do things on my own.

That’s when I told myself that I’m going to get myself a sewing machine and a good internet plan. So, whenever I went back to Rembau during the weekend, I will watch all the sewing tutorial on YouTube. I’m that person who needs both visual and audio aids to help me study. I don’t read instructions, I watch and listen to them. 2016 was the year where I started making my own Baju Raya and I’m surprised at how much my friends and acquaintances love it. That’s what makes me become even more inspired to create.

This year will be my 4th year making my won Baju Raya and I’m hoping to finally get my own clothing label launch. I know it’s not going to be easy but it has always been something I love doing and I believe that if you’re doing something you love, you’ll live a happier life! Plus, I know it is kind of impossible to do things on your own, so if any of you who shares the same passion for fashion, let’s meet and have a discussion over this. Maybe we can build something out of this? Who knows right?

P/S: I need a partner!

8 views0 comments
bottom of page