top of page
Search
  • King Marc

Fashion Tuesday: Oscars 2020 Red Carpet Moments


Congratulations to Parasite for winning all the major awards including, Best Picture, Best Director, Best Original Screenplay and Best Foreign Film. They really deserve it and I feel like the bar has been set for Hollywood to actually come up with something original and at the same time destroyed the possibilities of remaking an original masterpiece into their own. Okay enough about that because what I want to actually talk about is the red carpet looks from last night Oscars. I have few favorites and these are my ultimate top 5 looks.

5. Rooney Mara in Alexander McQueen

I'm in love with this look first of because it is Alexander McQueen and secondly because I did a sketch on a similar design months back and I didn't know I'm sharing the same vision as the designer. I mean the styling is very Rooney Mara which I'm not if she is that kinda girl but she always appeared to be this emo-ish and gothic-ish kinda a girl. It suits her overall look really. I'm here for a black soul vibe queen.

4. Renee Zellweger in Armani Prive

I'm a huge fan of clean and classy look like this one. This look expensive (because it is) and Renee just look so chic and elegant! The styling is right and it really gives you the best actress vibe. I mean the design is nothing new and we've seen this too many time but what made me put this in my best dress list is the overall look from the hair, make-up and shoes! Look at those shoes (Google other pictures for reference please)! If this dress were to be in Gold, she already an Oscar.

3. Sigourney Weaver in Dior

It's all in the details of this dress! The color against the red carpet? Popped! The braid across the waist? Cinched! The knot on the shoulder? The draping across the chest? Snapped! And that pleats on the skirt? Life! Mind you that this badass sci-fi queen is 70 years old! To be slaying the red carpet at 70? Not everyone can do it. Plus look at the subtle make up and styling, I love it minimal and this can easily be one of yall #METRaya2020 look, I mean if you like it a big extra but not too extra? Give it a go sis.

2. Natalie Portman in Dior Haute Couture

She is giving me Padme Amidala realness right here! I'm sucker for cape and to top it all off, Natalie's dress is making a statement to the Academy for snubbing female directors from the top categories. But wa are not going to talk about the controversy, we are here to talk about this Haute Couture Dior dress! No one can ever go wrong with this killer combo, Gold and Black will forever reign supreme as the killer color combo. Is braided belt a thing this year? I think I should get myself one or make myself one for one of my #METRaya2020 look. How bout that?

1. Janelle Monae in Custom Ralph Lauren

Come on Hershey kisses! Walk that red carpet! I'm in love with this dress and from far I thought it was just a silver fabric but when you look closer, it is actually a silver dress stoned with over 160,000 Swarovski crystals! You think that's crazy? How about a total of 600 hours to stone that dress and if it was me, I'll go cuckoo by the time I put the 159,999's stone on that dress. But for what it's worth, this dress is definitely a show stopping dress and look at the styling! Janelle Monae won the Oscars red carpet for me this year!

So those are my favorite dresses and my personal choices. You are free to pick your own if you don't agree because everyone is entitle to their own opinions right? So who are your favorites last night?

P/S: I don't know when to sew my #METRaya2020 outfits, I just can't find the time!

11 views0 comments
bottom of page