top of page
Search
  • Sherry Wise

Movie Review: Onward


I always have high hopes for Pixar’s movies and most of the time they live up to my expectations. So last night I watched their latest movie title Onward. I don’t really know why it is called Onward until I saw the movie. I have expectations for this movie after I read the synopsis and I was ready to burst my eyes with tears.

Okay now, this is just my opinion and I must be honest about how I felt watching this movie. I feel like this movie would have been great if they made it differently. Not entirely but some of it. I understand the message about the love and bonds between family but to go on an adventure with the bottom half of your deceased father? That was quite disturbing for me, I mean why don’t you just finish the whole body except for the face? It would be less disturbing, I think? Anyhow it will still be disturbing so please think of another way.

Apart from that, I think Onward is a pretty decent movie. The humors were there and I had a good laugh but as I said earlier, I was expecting a tear-jerking moment but I didn’t get that. The ending almost got me but it didn’t quite there yet. Maybe because I was expecting this movie to be about something else? I think so because I’ve lost my father like 7 years ago and I came into the cinema to have some kind of relatable moment but no, I didn’t get any. I tried but I can’t.

I don’t know what went wrong with this movie but I just don’t feel the spark or the magic of a good Pixar’s movie. So, I’m going to give this movie a 3/5 stars. I mean if you can relate to the movie, you might enjoy it but I feel like not all Pixar’s movies are relatable to me but I can still feel the emotion. Onward ain’t it for though. Maybe we’ll see what they have next?

P/S: I wanna watch Mulan but the controversies behind it really annoys me!

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

ILLUMINAKING

-Since 2017-

©2017 by illuminaking. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page