top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFaiz Faisal

Week In Review: Kindness


For this week in review, I will not talk about how each of my days passed by last week because I was in a quarantine and there's not much to do. Instead I'm going to talk about what I've seen happening a lot last week.

We are now in the second week of the Restricted of Movement Order and it has been extended until 14th April 2020. We really hope that all the citizens will do their part in any ways possible. Stay at home and only go out if you really need to and don’t be selfish. Be honest about your whereabouts and symptoms when you’re getting tested. This is not a death sentence for us and please don’t make it a death sentence to all of us. I know it is hard for everyone regardless because we are all affected by this virus in a way or another and a struggle is a struggle no matter how big or small it is. This is not the time for us to be talking about who suffered the most and what not.

Over these few days, especially after the government had announced the economic aids to help the citizens. I’ve seen a lot of remarks on why is the government only focus on certain group of people. Again, I know everyone is affected but now it is not the time for us to fight who deserves what. I think the government had already did a good job in helping those in need and yes, the stimulus announced might not be perfect but it does help to reduce the burden of those who are badly affected by this virus.

Yes, business owners will need to think about how to sustain their business and retain their employees and this time they will need to see it beyond the perspective of business. Empathy is needed in this dire time. Think about how you as a business owner can help lessen the burden of your employee, maybe if you can’t pay them in full, ask if they have enough food on their table and help to ease those little things. It is not like we as the workers wouldn’t understand because we are also affected and we have mouth to feed too. If you put it nicely and be honest about your situation, we would totally understand.

Aside from business perspective, I’ve also seen how people can be very insensitive with their words nowadays. I’ve seen netizens questioning why are the front liners been complaining about their work when this is the career path they chose. First of all, I have friends who worked as the front liners and I can assure you that this would not be a problem if the patients are giving full cooperation with the front liners. I’m also aware how this can affect the emotions of those who are working as the front liners and they might lose their cool. But at times like this, we really need to take a step back and calm ourselves before we make any statements. Talking while you are angry might cause you a lot. Your reputation, hardwork and what not.

So, what we need to do now is to be kind to each other as kindness will cure the world. I too believe that when we treat each other with kindness, we will be able to speak good words and make good actions. This is the most important time for us to show kindness. I know we are in a difficult time right now and together we can get through this.

P/S: I’m sad to see how vicious people can get when things aren’t going their way.

4 views0 comments
bottom of page