top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFaiz Faisal

ILLUMINAKING: Empathy Is The Key


What is empathy you might ask? Well went you can Google yourself on what empathy is, I'm here to talk about empathy from my perspective.I don't know nor I can confirm whether or not I have a very high level of empathy but from my readings and what not, I can say that I have quite a high level of empathy. I know to be writing about yourself can seem very narcissistic but who else out there is going to write about me right?

So let's begin! By definition, empathy means the awareness of the feelings and emotions of other people. In a simple way, how are we able to relate to someone's feelings and emotions as if we are the one who is experiencing it.Unlike sympathy, empathy goes beyond just our feelings for others and instead we 'fee with that person' through the use of imagination.

For someone like me, using my imagination is not a problem and I love to 'imagine' and I do it all the time. So, I guess being emphatic is natural to me. Whenever I want to do or say something, I will always put myself in that other person's shoes and see how it feels like to be at the receiving end of whatever I'm about to do or say. Usually the outcome is a bit different from what I expected but at least I tried to understand the person I'm interacting with. So, that is why most of the time I refused to say or do anything at all because I know the possible outcome of my actions.

I see a lot of this when I was in a relationship. Most of the time, I'll try to understand what is going on with my partner and I'll try to adapt to it and make sure they know I know how are they feeling. I'm also that type of person who likes to develop others. I don't know if this make sense but I want the people I care of to be at their best. I know sometimes it is hard to help someone who doesn't want to help themselves but I'm not a quitter. I know they can and I want them to believe they can too. Funny enough, developing others is also part of being emphatic.

Other trait of being emphatic includes leveraging diversity. This is what I mean when I say I love and want to work with a team. As much as I love doing my work alone, I believe in the special and unique abilities of the people around me. Whenever I need to work in a team, I always imagine myself being in a heist. I want my team to be diverse enough that each and everyone in my team is important to make the heist successful. I've been telling this to my top management to give a chance to form a team of creative people so I can get the content curation done quicker and better. I believe I'm able to do that but sadly enough no one believe in me just yet. Anyway, I believe that someday people will believe me and I'm going to make sure when the day comes, I'm able to walk the talk!

So, that's something about me that I'm sure not many people know and I hope this writing will give you an idea of what kind of person I am. Again, I'm aware that this could sound bias as I'm talking about myself and you must think that 'who the hell would right negative things about themselves' right? I mean that's fair but as much as I want to share the negative part of me, I don't feel the world would want anymore negativity right?

Are you also an emphatic person? Let me know and let's get to know each other more!

P/S: There are so much to do this week.

1 view0 comments
bottom of page