top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFaiz Faisal

Throwback Thursday: Phones of My Life


Back in 2014, I wrote an entry on my old blog about the phones that I've used throughout my 23 years of life. So 6 years later I'm back with a sequel. I'll share the original post and I'll continue to write the sequel right after. Let's check out the phones of my life (The Sequel).

"Assalamualaikum everybody! First of all, Alhamdulillah! Finally, my research proposal has been completed and now I can continue with my post for today. As I promised, I will share with you guys about the phones that I’ve been using throughout the 23 years of my life. Okay let’s begin with the first ever mobile phone I used.

Nokia 2300

Maybe some of you are not familiar with this phone. This Nokia was my first baby. My late father (al-fatihah) bought it for me back in 2005 because I said to him that everyone must have a phone at that time. So he bought me this. It was cute and I love it so much and unfortunately, this phone was stolen when I brought to school. I managed to use it for like 10 months or so.

Sony Ericson W550i

My late father (al-fatihah) bought it for me in 2006 as a motivation for me to study harder for my PMR. As usual, I said I will but God knows that I lied. 3 months later, the phone got snatched away from me while I was in the KTM fromMid Valley on my way back to Seremban. Moral of the story is to never lie to your parents. I was devastated!

Sony Ericsson P1i

This was the first ever smartphone that I bought myself. Using the money that I got from working at my parents restaurant back then. It lived a long live from 2006-2008 and it was too business-sy for me and I felt old using this phone. So I decided to sell it to my brother-in-law. By the way, it was also my first touch screen phone.

Nokia N82

In 2008, when I was 17, I promised my late father (al-fatihah) that I will study hard for SPM if he bought me a new phone because I don't have any phone now since I've sold my previous phone to my brother in law. As a caring father would do, he bought me this Nokia N82 and it was the best camera phone I have ever owned. Having an Nseries Nokia phone was a big deal back then.

Alcatel Elle Glamphone

Okay, since I have two numbers so I must have two phones right? This phone was given by my eldest sister. She got it as a gift I supposed. So I needed an extra phone and there it was. It was kind of chic and classy because the screen can turn into a mirror. Flip phone really gives you that extra-ness.

Nokia N97

It was 2009 and I got my offer to pursue my diploma and hell yes I need a new phone. So I bought this phone using my parents’ money as in loan. I paid them back later that year. The most sophisticated phone ever. 32GB internal memory was quite big back then and even now I think. Well this beast right here is still with me and fully functional till today. 4 years man.

Nokia N93

This was actually my dream phone when I was in form 4 but I did not get the chance to buy it. So somewhere in 2011 i bought a second-hand N93 for the sake of 'owning it once in my life' kind of thing. Missing in action when i was in UiTM Merbok. Someone stole it from me, yeah you =)

Blackberry Curve 3G

I admit this was purely peer pressure! I mean everybody was using this BB thing back in 2010++ so I must get myself a Blackberry too. Nothing fun about it except that the data plan for Blackberry was the cheapest and that was the only reason I hold on to it for two years. From 2012-2014.

Asus ZenFone 4

I bought it because I want to use it as a secondary phone. But android was no fun. Out the door!

iPhone 5s

Another peer pressure! But it is worth it. The best phone I have so far! One year and counting! Maybe I’ll stop counting till iPhone 6s.

That is all from me today, well I did not realized I owned so many phones till today. God knows what i can buy with the money that I've spent on my phones. Well guys if there is anything to learn from this post is that, never ever succumb to peer pressure! At least get a nice job first and don't go and spend your parents' money okay."

So I thought I was going to upgrade to iPhone 6s huh? Well this is the sequel. After iPhone 5s which I used for quite some time before I got myself another Android and this time it was:

Samsung S7 Edge

I wanted to upgrade my iPhone at first and I really wanted water and dust proof phone and iPhone doesn't have that at that time. After I bought this, iPhone came out with iPhone 7 which finally have water and dust proof features but S7 Edge was a very great phone. Used it for about 3 years.

Samsung Note 9

I thought I was an up and coming fashion designer so I need a device that I can sketch on whenever I'm inspired. That's the reason why I got myself a Note phone. I feel like this is the best Note phone ever and I'm still using it till today. One of my best purchase ever!

iPhone 11 Pro

It was never my intention to buy an iPhone because I already have the Note 9 and as I said before, it is a great phone but Mother Monster told me that I need to get an iPhone and so I did. It has been almost 4 years since I last used and iPhone and luckily I have two number and I really need to separate the numbers because I was using both on the Note 9 so I can't really differentiate which text to answer or ignore. Now I can:)

I'm not really a phone guy but I'll change my phone if I feel like it. For me it's not about the specs or whatever, it's more on aesthetic. If the phone looks nice, I'll probably buy but with the design of the current smartphones, there's not much different. Should I buy that Galaxy Z Flip?

P/S: Miskin

6 views0 comments
bottom of page