top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFaiz Faisal

Happy 67th


Alfatihah untuk arwah ayah saya. Today is supposed to be his 67th Birthday but arwah ayah meninggal secara mengejut 7 years ago. 7 years tu macam dah lama kan but I can remember the day so clearly in my head. I mean I'm not sure if it can be considered as a blessing because at least arwah ayah meninggal in front of me. We get to see each other one last time. I think I've shared the story on the days before my dad passed away. How he acted and what not. I think my family knows that I'm very close with my dad and basically I can get whatever I want from him.


But that doesn't mean that all my wrongdoings went unpunished! Arwah ayah kalau marah memang seram and that was the last thing all of us wanted to do. I remembered how I was forced to eat my meds when I was 7 or 8 macam tu, masa tu memang tak reti makan pills and after that incident. I prefer to eat ubat biji instead of liquid. Not just ubat lah, arwah ayah juga made me become the person yang tak memilih makan. Arwah ayah dulu banyak ajar makan makanan from other culture and dia pesan kalau nak senang hidup kat tempat orang, kena biasakan diri makan makanan tempat orang. Also arwah ayah cakap makanan tu rezeki so makan je asalkan halal. Sebab tu today, I can eat just about anything and tekak ni memang tak memilih makan.


Arwah ayah jugalah yang rajin bawak jalan-jalan dekat KL ni and because of him juga I grew up to be someone yang senang ingat jalan. I mean I still know my way in Sungai Petani, Kota Bharu, Batu Pahat, Johor Bharu or mana-mana je lah yang kitorang pernah drive. That are some of his traits yang I think I'm blessed to have. Apart from that, according to my uncles, aunties and cousins yang pernah tengok arwah ayah masa muda, semua cakap I look exactly like him. One thing that I really respect my father for is that, just like me, arwah ayah pun a man of few words and dia hanya cakap bila perlu. But diam-diam dia pun, arwah ayah sangat ramah bila dengan saudara-mara which I think I could never be. Sebab tu anak-anak buah dia ingat je dia.


Arwah ayah selalu pesan, he told me untuk senyum selalu sebab I have an angry face. I remember telling him that nak buat macam mana dah memang lahir muka marah. He told me that it is a blessing because I will need to constantly remind myself to smile and senyum tu kan satu sedekah. Cuba bayangkan berapa banyak pahala dapat sebab asyik remind diri sendiri untuk senyum and buat others smile as well.

My dad was a very optimistic man and dia nampak benda yang positive je in everything. Even duit dia kena tipu dulu pun dia masih boleh see the positive things in life. When he found out that I'm a Lady Gaga fanatic pun dia suruh see the positive side of Lady Gaga. I remembered he said no matter how bad someone seems to be. Always see the good side of them before tengok buruk dorang. Only avoid certain people when the negative is more dominant than the positive. Arwah ayah pernah suruh senaraikan the positive things that I see in Lady Gaga and why I love her so much. All those little random conversation that we had got me thinking today, my dad really took the time to know and to talk about the things that I love.


At that time rasa macam annoying but to think about it now, I'm touched to see how my father was trying to get to know me. Oh yeah and if you think I'm sarcastic, I bet you wouldn't survive being read by my father. I got all this sarcastic remarks from him. He was kinda quick with his responses back then and I guess I got it all from him.


Happy 67th Birthday Ayah. Semoga roh ayah dicucuri rahmat and ditempatkan dengan orang-orang yang beriman. Amin


8 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page