top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFaiz Faisal

ILLUMINAKING: New 'House'



Today has been exactly 2 months since I started working at Demojo and it surely doesn't feel that long because I've been working from home 99.9% of the time. Which I'm not a big fan of because I'm not good with virtual meetings. I mean I interact even less when I'm not face to face with someone. This is just add fuel to the fire because even when I'm face to face with someone, people already label me as anti-social or quite. Imagine how quite and anti-social I am to them during all the virtual meetings? I just want people to get to know the fun side of me as soon as I entered a new place. I don't want them to think I'm a quite person for long because when I let my 'loud' self out eventually, they'll be surprised and might feel some type of way.


Okay enough about my concern, what I want to really talk about today is the working culture here in Demojo. Honestly, I don't know if I'm saying this to early and I'm not sure if I should be talking about it this early because I don't want to jinx it. But I'm going to tell you guys anyway. So, here in Demojo. I'm the only Malay surrounded by Chinese. I'm not going to lie to you guys but I was a little bit (very actually) worried about being the minority (in my case the only person) in a group of people. During my first day, I put the biggest smile and nodded to every words everyone was saying. But as the day goes by, I noticed how persistence these people are in getting me involved in every conversation they have. Until at one point I felt like I'm being a burden, so I told them to just carry on chatting without having to worry about me. Well, given that I know a little Mandarin because I went to a Chinese school when I was 7 till 9. I can pick up some of the things they said and they really are concern about me being left out in their conversation.


Another thing that I like about the working culture here is that, every knows what to do and they will help you. Not that I didn't get any help from my previous work but it is just that, they know you need help without you telling them you need help. It is very helpful for someone like me who is 'shy' to ask for help. But there's another thing that I really love about working here so far is how the management really backed you up when dealing with unreasonable clients. I tell you this, I never ever experienced this in my working life when dealing with clients. I'll be the one to blame whenever clients report something to the management. Most of the management won't even take the time to ask you what really happened and straight away scold you but here, the management will check with the client first and back to us before deciding what to do next.


I mean that's the most important thing I think. Because when you work in a place where everyone really understand what everyone is doing, you'll be more mindful and respectful of each other and when people from outside trying to get to you (ie the clients) you wouldn't be so quick to flip on your teammates. That was one of the thing I didn't get to experience back then.


So, I'm really thankful for this new 'house' I'm in and I really want to take this opportunity and blessing to do my best and eventually become the better person in every aspect. Amin!


P/S: They already elected me to be the club secretary that quick.



7 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page