top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFaiz Faisal

ILLUMINAKING: Side Hustle


Life isn't easy unless you were born with a silver spoon in your mouth. For me, I'm lucky to even be born with a plastic spoon to feed me because some of them don't even have anything to be fed with. Growing up was easy for me, I mean I wasn't born into a rich family but we were comfortable. To be able to get my Happy Meal fix every week was already a blessing for me.


However, getting into adulthood and trying to live on my own without stable financial support from my parents was a challenge. I grew seeing my siblings get a head start into their adulthood with help from my parents. But I didn't get that so honestly speaking, I was quite jealous. I don't want to make things all about me but as expected from the youngest child, I should make everything all about me. But instead, I became independent not because I have to but because I want to.


Living life by myself was not as hard as I thought it would be mostly because I grew up by myself. Not that I was abandoned or whatever, but I felt comfortable doing things on my own. I didn't have that many friends when I was growing up and I always play alone with my imagination. So, to live on my own now is just a piece of cake.


So how do I live on my own? Of course, I need to work, and living in KL with the money that I'm making is not enough. I need to a little something on the side as well, so I do the things that I'm most comfortable doing. I create! Currently, I've been doing some content creation on the side anonymously and I'm telling you, although it was a lot of work it sure doesn't feel that way because you're doing something you love doing. Apart from that, I also did a little designing gig and about to come out with another collection with a local brand soon. I mean these are things that I feel like everyone needs to know and do.


Turn your hobby into money. If you love cooking, then sell some food online. If you love sewing, sell some clothes online. The thing is, don't worry too much about what people would think about the things you are selling but think about would you buy the things that you are selling. If you would buy something with the quality and price you are selling to other people, I think you'll have a great product.


When selling my content creation service, I only charge people on how much I'm willing to pay myself with the quality of work I'm doing. That's why I don't sell the clothes that I'm sewing myself because I know the quality of work is not as great. So I usually just sell my design. These are some of the side hustles that I've been doing in keeping me sane living in the heart of a Big city like Kuala Lumpur. So, I really hope that someday, I'll have enough money to actually help those in need. Especially my family and close friends.


P/S: My family and close friends have been helping me a lot!


0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page