top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFaiz Faisal

Movie Review: Cruella

Updated: Jul 3, 2021


If I have to name the top 3 of my all-time favorite Disney villains, Cruella will come in second after Maleficent and Jafar will be my third. When they announced the prequel to Disney's classic 101 Dalmatians, I was a bit excited but then they announced that Emma Stone will be playing the titular role. That was the part that got me a bit skeptical as to what kind of Cruella will she be portraying.



Fast forward to 2021 and the world got hit by a pandemic, I wasn't able to go to the cinema and watch it so I got to do what I had to do. To be honest, I'm obsessed with the costume and the mood of the movie. It was kind of dark but colorful at the same if that makes sense? The storyline was a bit predictable though and if I were to complain about the movie, it would be about how they're going to make Cruella into a fur-loving fashion designer who skins animals alive for their fur?


Because honestly throughout the movie, I didn't catch a glimpse of the Cruella we know in 101 Dalmatians. She doesn't seem like someone who would hurt a puppy. So I was waiting on how and when did she became Cruella De Vil. Apart from that I really think the movie was a fun movie to watch. Emma Stone did really well her her portrayal of Ella who then becomes Cruella De Vil. It was such a fresh take on a Disney classic and I would love to see more origin movies of the Disney Villains.


I hope they'll do one on Jafar because I really need to know what made Jafar the way he is. I mean I already had the storyline in my head but if they made a movie about and if it turns out to be the same story as what I'm imagining it to be. That's going to be so dope!


Back to Cruella, I'm giving the movie 4/5 Stars because it really inspired me to create some cute outfits during this pandemic! So if you haven't watched it yet, I think it's going to come out on Disney + or Astro pretty soon.


P/S: I was hoping to watch Black Widow at the cinema!


3 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page