top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFaiz Faisal

Movie Review: Madame Web



Do you know what Sony should do? Stop making origin movies about the Spider Universe. These characters like Mobius, Venom, Madame Web, and many others have a high potential to become a hit movie but Sony seems not to know how to do it. I suggest that Sony stop telling the origin but instead make movies about how these characters are pivotal to the Spiderverse.


Do you know how cool it is to see a seasoned Madame Web in action? She is one of the most powerful characters in the Spiderverse. She is a mutant who possesses several psychic abilities such as telepathy, seeing the future, astral projection, and she is one of the most intellectually gifted characters in Marvel. Imagined how badass of a movie it would be if Sony straightaway told this part of the story.


But instead, Sony is being Sony and decided to go for another origin story. We only got to see Madame Web using her power for 5% of the movie. The rest of the movie she was just a woman who is babysitting three future Spiderwomen. Also, the timeline was a bit weird because the 3 Spiderwomen were there first before Peter Parker. I thought they were set in the Tobey Maguire universe because the year was 2003. So that alone really confuses me or maybe they were setting up Madame Web to be the multiversal character who can see whatever is going to happen in another Spiderverse. Kind of cool if you ask me but looking at what we have here, I doubt that they are going to make a sequel.


Also, why was the acting so bad? I mean the cast was good but I feel like the line delivery was stiff and uninspiring. The jokes also didn't land quite well, I remember the audience had a good laugh when Cassie was trying to climb the wall and fell to see if she had spider abilities. Apart from that, I just heard chuckles here and there. Another thing, what the hell was Emma Roberts doing in the movie? Why did they cast her as Mary Parker? What a waste of talent there.


At this point, I think Sony should just give the rights of these Spiderverse characters to Disney and let them cook whatever needs to be cooked. Before I give you my rating for this movie, I just remembered that I was holding my laughter towards the end of the movie because what is Madame Web wearing? That shades and the Professor X wheelchair? Her Spider costume and with that big ass shade/mask? The girl looks like a cosplayer rather than the actual hero.


Okay, so this movie for me is 2/10 and that is because I love Dakota and Sydney outside of this movie. I want to say that I hope Kraven will be better than Madame Web but I honestly am not sure what to expect now. Sony is wasting Aaron Taylor-Johnson!

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

ILLUMINAKING

-Since 2017-

©2017 by illuminaking. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page