top of page
Search
Writer's pictureFaiz Faisal

News Flash: #BlackLivesMatter


Racism is never okay and no matter what your justifications are, it will never be okay. The recent protest that re-ignite the BLM movement was caused by the death of George Floyd and honestly, I was devastated by the news and though I haven't been saying much about this. It doesn't mean I'm not supporting the movement. As much as I think it is important for us to show support to end racism on global scale, I just think that as a person and a member of a local society in Malaysia. There are things that need to be address in my own community and I feel like I should start from the root and then only I can reach for the bigger issues.


To end racism is to start with our own mindset. Chanting that you're not racist is not enough, you must speak through your actions. Racism and discrimination is Malaysia is still high and now that we have people who are racist being in the top management, there only so much you can do. I understand where all these protests are coming from, it all started because of the top management refused to address such issues and to take action. These protests have shown that the management has failed it's people. How can we change this? How is it possible to bring change if the democracy has been corrupted? We need to remove these racist people from the office and take charge.


I believe this protest is the best way and those who thinks otherwise are the scared racist people or those who are scared to have their privileges stripped off. I'm so happy to see celebrities with huge platform are coming together to help the movement. I think it is very important for people with huge influence to educate other people who might be clueless about how important this movement is.


I must say that I was one of that 'All Lives Matter' person before I realized that all lives do matter but now the lives that need our attention is the lives of POC around the world. It is not just in the USA, POC in the Europe are facing the same issues as well. Racism is also a pandemic and I feel like it is far more worst because it is a selective pandemic. As I said earlier, the only way for us to stop racism is for us the treat each other with respect. Be kind to one another and I'm sure we will see other people through the color of their skin. I don't know why is it hard to be kind? Just treat other people kindly and that's all it takes.


Hopefully this movement will bring change to the world and we will emerge as a better community that celebrates each other beyond skin color, religion and race. Amen.


P/S: Change is coming!


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page