top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFaiz Faisal

RPDR 16 RuCap: Episode 4




Now that Hershii is gone, the queens are starting to feel the pressure of the competition. The remaining queens walked into the werkroom after surviving the Mother of All Balls and Morphine decided to address the tension during untucked. Plane and Amanda had their moment and the queens were living for it, I mean I was living for it too. I don't care what people think about the queens fighting, whether it is real or it is for TV, I'm just here to see some dynamic in the show. However, when you're trying to push a certain narrative on a specific person, it seems a little bit tired for me. Can we get another villain next episode?


Okay now, the queens entered the werkroom the next day and Ru revealed that their maxi challenge for the week is RDR Live. An SNL-inspired challenge that was introduced in All Stars 8 if I'm not mistaken. I think this should be a regular challenge for upcoming seasons because I feel like it gives the queens some exposure or maybe even a chance to be on SNL one day. But, unlike All Stars 8. I think the RDR challenge this time was not as enjoyable as I thought it would be. I mean the sketches are not sketching and I can only appreciate the news and the Barbara Quartet skits. The rest? It was there.


Let's move on to the runway of the night and when I tell you I love the "A Night Of A Thousand..." runway theme, I mean it and I'm hoping to see high camp, high fashion take from the queens for their inspired looks. This time around they are giving us A Night of a Thousand Cher! Finally! So let's go through the looks together.


Xunami Muse - Oh she is giving! The wings, the nude illusion, and the legs? One of my tops of the night.


Morphine Love Dion - She is serving one of the most Iconic Cher's looks but I wish the fabric could be more sheer.


Mhi'ya Iman LePaige - I'm not sure if it was a setup or Mhi'ya was just confused as to which Cher's look she was referencing but it was not it. It looks more like the Turn Back Time look to me.


Geneva Karr - I don't know, I mean the look she was referencing to was iconic but her take on it was not giving much. As Miss Buffy said, it looked more Britney than Cher.


Mirage - I love this look, though it seems a little unfinished, especially at the bottom part. I feel like this look is giving Cher with a touch of Mirage.


Megami - The look is looking and this is the look that I thought Mhi'ya was going for. As for Megami, she did embody Cher in this ensemble.


Plane Jane - You know you have to just hate someone because they're doing a good job. That's how I am with Plane. She did the look justice though I would love if the dress was more sheer like the original.


Amanda Tori Meating - I mean a Cher Doll is still Cher right? I don't know, something wasn't right to me. Maybe the tits were too high?


Dawn - I think Dawn missed the chance to give us a moment here. If she walked the runway in the Black and White version of the Cher's look she's referencing, I think it would've been one of the gaggiest things in Drag Race herstory.


Q - Should I say more? I mean that is Cher walking down the runway. I wonder if she made this look too? The headpiece? Yes mam, more please!


Plasma - The look is clean but does it look anything like the original? No, but that's okay because she is still serving Cher.


Nymphia Wind - Not a look I would've expected and this to me is more on the costumey side but she did deliver.


Sapphira Cristal - I see the reference here and I think Sapphira is clever to pick this look. Somehow I feel like this is something that Sapphira herself would wear in her show. So it is giving Cher and Sapphira.


We are done with the runway and now let's talk about the RDR performances. The tops for me are Q and Plasma. The bottoms for me are Geneva, Mhi'ya, and Mirage. I honestly think that Q would bag the win this week but Plasma's Barbara was so on point and I'm not mad she won. However, I think Mhi'ya and Geneva should've been in the bottom two with Geneva leaving the competition.


But sadly, my girl Mirage had to sashay away this week. It is sad to see her leave because, to me, she killed it in the lipsync. Too bad she didn't know the words or else she would've devoured Miss Geneva and sent her packing.


Anyway, I hope the future for Mirage is as bright as her personality and I can't wait to see more of Mirage. Till next week.

Recent Posts

See All

ILLUMINAKING

-Since 2017-

©2017 by illuminaking. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page