top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFaiz Faisal

Song Of The Week: Slide - Calvin Harris Ft Frank Ocean & Migos



As I sit here listening to "Slide" by Calvin Harris featuring Frank Ocean and Migos, I'm transported back to 2017. Those days were filled with fun, laughter, and an unbreakable bond with my best friend. We shared everything, from the smallest secrets to our grandest dreams. But now, I find myself grappling with the pain of losing one of my best friends to adulthood.


Losing a friend, especially a best friend, hurts just as much as any other breakup. Unlike a partner, your best friend is the first person you truly open up to outside of your family. They know your fears, your hopes, and the parts of you that you rarely show to the world. The bond is unique, and when it starts to fade, it leaves a void that's hard to fill.


At this age, I'm feeling a mix of sadness and gratitude. I'm devastated that we're drifting apart, but I'm also glad that they have found someone who can keep up with their life. It's a strange comfort knowing that they have someone who fits into their new phase, even if that person isn't me. I don't want to be selfish and ask them to change who they are or how they live just because I'm at a different point in my own journey. We all move at different paces, and if I can't keep up with theirs, I'm okay with walking my own path.


Despite the sadness, I'm grateful for the decade we spent as each other's comfort place. Those memories will always be a part of me, and I hope they'll remember them fondly too. To my friend, I wish you nothing but the best. I hope your new "home" is even more comfortable than the one we built together. Thank you for being my confidant, my partner in crime, and my sanctuary. I hope you find endless happiness in your new chapter.

1 view0 comments

コメント


bottom of page