top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFaiz Faisal

Throwback Thursday: My First Paid Job - A Housekeeper’s Journey


two housekeepers cleaning a bedroom

Everyone remembers their first paid job—it's a rite of passage, a glimpse into the real world, and often, a significant learning experience. For me, that first job was as a housekeeper at the Royal Adelphi Seremban hotel, now known as Royale Chulan. It wasn’t the most glamorous job, but it was one that taught me invaluable lessons about work, people, and even myself.


Landing the Job and Flying Solo

The opportunity to work as a housekeeper came through a high school friend. We both planned to work together, thinking it would be fun to have a familiar face around as we navigated this new experience. However, just days after we started, my friend decided to leave, leaving me to continue on my own. It was a bit daunting at first, but it also pushed me to become more independent and responsible.


The First Paycheck: A Taste of Hard-Earned Money

Having grown up helping my parents at their restaurant, where I paid myself as a cashier, I was no stranger to the concept of work. But there was something different about receiving that first actual paycheck. It felt more rewarding, more deserved, because I knew I had put in real effort to earn it. The physical work, the long hours, the tasks that weren’t always pleasant—all of it made me cherish that paycheck even more. It was a tangible reward for the hard work I had invested, and it taught me to value money in a way I hadn’t before.


Lessons Learned: People’s True Colors

One of the most profound lessons I learned as a housekeeper was about people’s character. Working in a hotel, you encounter all sorts of personalities. Unfortunately, many people tend to treat housekeepers as beneath them, forgetting that we’re all just trying to do our jobs. But there were also those who were kind, polite, and appreciative of the work we did.


This job gave me a new perspective on how to treat others, especially those in service roles. It taught me that everyone deserves respect, regardless of their job title. Now, even though I work more on the backend and don’t interact with people as much, I make it a point to treat everyone with the same respect and kindness I would want to receive.


Shaping My Work Ethic and Outlook

While the experience was short-lived, it left a lasting impact on my work ethic and how I interact with others. It instilled in me a sense of humility and the importance of not making others feel belittled, no matter their role. This lesson has stayed with me, shaping how I conduct myself in both personal and professional settings.


The Haunted Vibe and a Love for Horror

Interestingly, one of the most memorable aspects of working at the hotel wasn’t just the people or the work itself, but the vibe—especially during the early morning shifts. There was always something eerie about being in a nearly empty hotel in the early hours, and it often gave me a bit of a scare.


Looking back, I realize that this eerie experience probably planted the seeds for my current love of horror movies. There’s something about that unsettling atmosphere that I find thrilling now, and for that, I guess I can be thankful for those early morning shifts!


Conclusion: A Job That Shaped Me

My first paid job as a housekeeper was more than just a way to earn money; it was a formative experience that taught me about hard work, people, and even a bit about myself. While it wasn’t always easy, and there were definitely challenges along the way, I’m grateful for the lessons it taught me. It’s a reminder that every job, no matter how small or seemingly insignificant, has the potential to shape who you are and how you view the world.

3 views0 comments

Комментарии


bottom of page