top of page
Search
  • King Marc

ILLUMINAKING : Top 5 Lady Gaga Music Videos


Actually it is hard for me to choose my Top 5 when it comes to Lady Gaga. For me whatever she did is top notch. Her range of talent and creativity are out of this world. Ever-since her debut back in 2008, Lady Gaga has change the pop music game. Everyone have to up their game to match Lady Gaga, while some managed to but most failed big time. So in honor of celebrating Lady Gaga Vegas residency, I'm listing my Top 5 Favorite Lady Gaga's music videos. Mind you that this list is based on my favorite and I will start with number 1.

1) Bad Romance (2009)

The Fame Monster era is my favorite. When she released Bad Romance for the first time on October 27 2009, my whole world was shaking to the 'Rah Rah Rah Ah Ah, Gaga oo Lala'. This song became an instant hit and will go down as one of the most memorable pop song ever! The music video did justice to the song. She is wearing one of the most iconic piece by the Late Alexander McQueen in the video and this fashion film is nothing short of High Fashion! Raining diamonds, latex body suit and Faux Polar Bear cape. The video is perfect and artistic, I mean one can never expect less than artistic from Lady Gaga.

2) Judas (2011)

One of Lady Gaga's controversial songs. Judas tells the story about a woman who loves a man who betrayed her. The song is also about honoring one's inner darkness in order to bring oneself into the light as explained by Lady Gaga herself. I remembered when this song first came out on April 16 2011, I was in my dorm and I had my earphones on and turned the volume up and drowned myself in the music. It was therapeutic. Judas choreography is one of my favorite and easy choreography from Lady Gaga. The video is a direct reference of the Biblical story of Judas betraying Jesus, and ended with Gaga as Magdalene getting stoned to death. Genius!

3) Paparazzi (2008)

Another fashion film from Lady Gaga. Artist like Michael Jackson was known to have long/short film style music videos. In the modern pop music scene, Lady Gaga is giving life to the short film style music video. Her first is Paparazzi, the video started with Lady Gaga being pushed over the balcony by her boyfriend. This fashion short film is so avant-garde that it makes me fantasize about being dead and looking gorgeous! Talking about influential, Lady Gaga did that and oh who can forget the line when Lady Gaga killed her boyfriend at the end? 'I just killed boyfriend' Iconic!

4) Telephone (2009)

How can I not include the video that featured two of the most successful woman in music? Telephone music video is the continuation of Paparazzi and it was made in the short film style as well. Beyonce came to the rescue when Lady Gaga was imprisoned for killing her boyfriend in Paparazzi music video. Lady Gaga later helped Beyonce killed her boyfriend and 'accidentally' killed everyone in the restaurant too. At the end of this video we can see the 'To Be Continued' credit but after almost 8 years, it seems like Lady Gaga and Beyonce are still running away from the authorities driving a pussy wagon.

5) G.U.Y (2014)

ARTPOP was supposed to be a visual album where all the songs in the album will have their own music video but that didn't happened to God knows what reasons. But this video did justice to that (maybe) by featuring songs that could have been a single from ARTPOP like Venus (supposed to be ARTPOP second single but replaced by Do What You Want) and also the video started with visual of Lady Gaga who appeared to be a fallen angel with ARTPOP as the background song. This video showcased lots of Art reference such as Nathan Sawaya's Lego sculpture, Minecraft and the majestic Hearst castle. G.U.Y is the only production that used the Hearst Castle for filming after almost 50 years. That's what made this video special.

P/S: All of her videos are masterpiece, I love all of her videos. What are your favorites?

4 views0 comments
bottom of page