top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFaiz Faisal

ILLUMINAKING: 5 Favorite Songs From Lana Del Rey


I listen to other music too, I'm not all Lady Gaga all the time (but she is definitely the number 1). Another queen that I love listening to is Lana Del Rey. She has this innocent yet sexy persona where she seems so vulnerable but actually bad-ass. There is a part in me that believes she is actually a witch. The legit kind who can put a spell on you. So these are my 5 favorite songs from Witch Lana Del Rey, actually I love all of her songs but need to choose 5 for the sake of this post okay.

5) Born To Die

I gotta love the song that catapult this woman to the mainstream music scene. I only get to hear this song played on the local radio like once or twice back when I was in Merbok. Malaysian radio doesn't play much Lana and I don't know why.

4) Blue Jeans

This song is bad-ass because the music video is bad-ass. Swimming with the crcos? not the slippers but the animal crocs or is gators? I don't know this animal planet stuff but Lana made it look high fashion, sexy and classy. The song that talks about you love your man more than those bitches before? This is how you confess your love, swim with deadly animals.

3) Cola

I love this song the most in Born To Die Paradise. I don't know why but there something about this song that screams 'Slutty' but classy. I mean she does know the man's wife and the wife is okay with it so she wins!

2) High By The Beach

Like I can really get high by the beach because water is where my heart is so I can literally get high by any places that have water. Not really sure what the song is about but I love the music video and I must tell you, other than Lady Gaga, Lana's videos are my favorite to watch!

1) God Bless America

The intro of this song reminds me of one my favorite local song intro by Ziana Zain "Setiaku Disini' or is it just me? This song is haunting me at night especially the chorus. I mean I would sing this song with a change of a lyric God Bless Everyone.

Like I said, I love all her song but all 5 songs listed are actually the most played on my playlist so yeah.

P/S: I really want that Lana X Gaga duet!

4 views0 comments
bottom of page