top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFaiz Faisal

ILLUMINAKING: Life Of A Content Developer


Creating or developing content has been my dream ever since I graduated university. Mostly it is because I have so much in my mind that I feel like sharing to the world. Even most of the time the world doesn't really want what I have to say but I'm still putting it out there anyway.

Why am I writing this today? Well recently I have a kinda one to one session with my bosses and we had a little chat about where I see myself in the company. I'm just being frank and said that I love what I'm doing because this is the path I want to go and I really want to be better in this. Of course when we talk about ourselves, we only see what we want other people to see and say what we think other people want to hear. But then I heard from my CEO that she notices that I'm that person who likes to work alone and in my own space.

She said that in order for me to generate or come out with ideas, I need to be in my zone and she expect that no one will interrupt the process. I agree and yes I do like to work in my own space and at my own pace. My ideas come whenever I'm alone and that's when I let myself to explore every aspect of life possible. My imagination train went full speed and I get to explore all the "what ifs".

As much as she was right about my thought and work process. I have to say one thing that she didn't get it quite right is that, I do need some input from others and that is how I further elaborates all my ideas to develop my content. This is where I'm struggling in most part of my work. As she said before, I don't want people to interrupt me when I'm in my zone and I feel that other people do feel the same way when they're in their zone. So I find it very difficult for me to seek help or ask other people's opinions in order for me to build my content because I'm scared that I might be interrupting whatever they're doing.

This resulted in me succumbing into the pressure of not able to do things on my own. At times I feel like I haven't been doing enough while other people can do everything on their own. This will definitely reflected in the content that I've created. Most of the time I'm not satisfied with whatever I've created and I think that they feel the same way too. So now I'm trying to think of a way where I can have someone that I can bounce my ideas with and at the same time not disturbing their personal work.

Well I'm just a year and a half into this field and I wish I can grow and be better to a point that I'm able to do things on my own. I have few friends that are doing content and they have been doing in for years now. I love seeing them getting all creative and coming out with these creative content and what not. That is what I aspire to be, to create something that is original and at the same time useful and liked by people. From where I am now, I can say that most of my content are recycled to fit the local taste.

This is the life of a content developer and just like fashion designers, we too need to come out with something new every other day to stay relevant in the field. Hopefully I get to achieve all the things I want in life and make a career out of content creation. Amin!

P/S: I hate it when I'm experiencing writer's block. I feel useless!

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page