top of page
Search
  • King Marc

Movie Review: Joker


I'm not going to lie and say I was excited about this movie when they first announced it. Mainly because I'm used to all the action comic-cy superheroes movies and with Joaquin Phoenix as The Joker? I told myself that this is not going to worth my time and money. I don't really enjoy watching Drama/Thriller kinda movie. I've been telling myself that until yesterday, I said to myself that maybe I should give it a try and have a change of wind because all superheroes movie has been kinda same.

I bought the ticket and walked into the hall with a different mindset. I reset my brain and I watched the movie without any reference to previous superheroes movie and it was the greatest thing I've done so far in term of watching a movie in the cinema! Joaquin Phoenix killed it and dare I say that he is the greatest Joker next to Heath Ledger! This movie was made for the Oscar and I really hope Joaquin Phoenix will be nominated for best lead actor for this role!

This is a fresh take on the character and it makes you sympathized and actually rooting for Joker! It really shows the reality that we are facing today where the riches are living up there not giving two shit about us down here. Joker was a victim of an ignorant community and all he did was stood up for himself and when you get the power over yourself, no one can stop you. I'm in love with Joker even more after watching this movie and I'm team Joker all the way now.

There were times I had tears in my eyes and I had goosebumps throughout the movie. The cinematography was bombed af! The score was bombed af as well and every about this movie was bombed af! This is by far the best movie I've watched in 2019! I'm giving this movie 5/5 stars!

You should go and watch Joker and before you do, just reset your mind that this is not a superhero movie and this is also not the typical origin movie. Then you'll be able to enjoy and understand Joker even more!

P/S: I've never been so touched by a movie before!

14 views0 comments
bottom of page