top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFaiz Faisal

Throwback Thursday: League of the Awesome Singles


Hi guys, so for this round of Throwback Thursday. I'll share with all of you one of the many posts that I've posted years back. This was an entry that I made 7 years back and I'm not really sure what I mean and why I wrote it but let's take a look at 22 years old me.

"Assalamualaikum everyone! So, suddenly I feel like Paris Hilton and I'm looking for new BFFs. Okay, the criteria that I'm looking for in a friend is very simple, you must be single! That is all and nothing else matter! It's not like I'm not grateful for the friends that I have now, but it's just that I need to be in that 'League of the Awesome Singles'. You know a group of cool single people that will be able to talk about their interest and telling stupid jokes without having to relate every single things to their partners.

Because whenever I'm having a conversation with my friends now, they will definitely find a way to relate whatever we are talking about to the stories of their love life! Since I'm the only one who doesn't have anyone to brag about, I felt so left out in the conversation and I will eventually lost interest in the conversation and set sail into my dreamland. Please don't take this the wrong way okay my dear friends, I am listening to you guys whenever you guys were talking about your partners, I do.

Some of you might asked me 'why should I be looking for more friends instead of looking for a partner and join the party? Well, the answer is easy, I'm not ready and I don't care if I'm already 70 years old because if I'm not ready to be in a relationship, that means I'm not ready. So, I really need new sets of friends who are single. Please noted that this is not jealousy, seriously why would I be jealous over something I'm not into?

Relationship is hard, you need lots of sacrifices! You'll need to sacrifice your time, you must commit to something that you're unsure of! You need to be well prepared economically, physically, mentally and lots of other things! And as selfish as I might sound, I'm not really good at compromising. I rarely sacrifice for others but myself. I've always put myself first because I have this idea of me living my life on my own and I can only depends on myself to make me happy.

But if all were to change one day, it means that I'm ready for relationship and before the time comes, I'll be a man of myself in term of committing to something. All I need now are my family and friends. So, are you single? If you are, lets be best friend :)"

Okay, that was something. I didn't know I was so damn sure that I wasn't ready to be in relationship back then. I'm pretty sure that I wrote this entry after a break-up because it seems like I despise the idea of being in a relationship so much. Hmmm I don't know maybe I'm back in that state of mind now because it seems relatable to the current me.

P/S: I love how I used to give 'salam' before I started writing back then. What happen to that polite little Faiz?

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page