top of page
Search
  • King Marc

Song Of The Week: Prom Song Gone Wrong - Lana Del Rey


I think I first listened to this song about 7 years ago and I'm in love with it then and I'm still in love with it now. I remembered that I cried a little when I listened to it back then because to me, there is something about the lyrics that got me imagine myself being in that position. I'm not sure what is Lana's point of view when she wrote this song but for me, I got the vibe of a young couples who are so in love and the only thing that are holding on to at the moment is their love for each other.

I mean that's the kind of relationship we're all hoping for right? But not everyone get the chance to experience that. So if you're in a relationship right now, please do whatever it takes to keep the love burning. Never let that flame disappear,. Fight for whatever you have now and never give on it okay. Now let's have a listen while reading through the lyrics together shall we?

Boy, it's late, walk me home, put your hand in mine

At the gate, stop and say, "Be my valentine

You are, by far, the brightest star I've ever seen

And I never dreamed I'd be so happy that I could die

You used to say that I was beautiful, like Cleopatra,

But you're the king, too, so I would say, "Back at ya!

I'd flip my hair and make you stare and put my make-up on

And make up stories 'bout my life and 'bout my very cherry-bomb

And even then I knew that we were something serious

That you would dominate my thoughts like radio the Sirius

I see you in the hall like "Hello, hello"

Up against the wall like "Let's go, let's go"

(Chorus)

Let me take you out of this town, Let me do it right now, baby.

Dancing till dark, staying forever young,

Let's get out of this place, 'cause you're starting to waste

Within this teenage wasteland.

You will never see my face

If you don't get me out of this place, now, baby,I'm not crazy.

I'm leaving, are you coming with me?

If you're lonely, baby, hold me, you're my only one

Watching television, kissing till we see the sun

So far we are safe in the dark

And I never dreamed that I'd be the queen

and I'd be so happy that I could die.

You used to call yourself the Don and call me Queen Diana

You always made me blush and say, "Shut up boy, you bananas!"

You pull my hair and push me down and chase me, make me run

You play me Biggie Smalls and then my first Nirvana song

So even then when no one's friends were really serious

I knew you loved me by the way you looked in second period

I see you in the hall like "Hello, hello"

Up against the wall like "Let's go, let's go"

(Repeat Chorus)

I know that they say that all I want is to have fun

And get away for rainy days.

I know that they think I've come undone,

But I'm in love... I wanna run, run, run away.

I'm leaving, are you coming with me?

Let me take you out of this town,Let me do it right now,

baby.Dancing till dark, staying forever young,

Let's get out of this place, 'cause you're starting to waste

Within this teenage wasteland.

You will never see my face

If you don't get me out of this place now, baby,I'm not crazy.

I'm leaving, are you coming with me?

So, what do you think about the song? I think this is probably one of my ultimate favorite from Lana Del Rey.

P/S: I want to run away with someone I love too!

7 views0 comments
bottom of page