top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFaiz Faisal

Week In Review: Covid and Ramadan


Today is the 3rd day of Ramadan and what I can say now is that, it doesn't feel the same. I mean the excitement is not there. But at this point, I feel like I'm okay with staying home if it means I get to live another day to experience Ramadan.

So, let's talk about last week. There's nothing much going on as you guys expected because we are all at home doing our part in flattening the curve. I see some positive results but I can't say the same to our neighbors in Singapore and Indonesia. Things are getting worst there. As much as I'm upset with selfish people, I do understand why it is hard for some to stay home but at this testing time, staying home is not an option, it is a must. I really hope people would understand the impact of staying home. Okay enough about that, talk about how my week went

Sunday (19th April 2020)

I did nothing at all, my Sunday was filled with nothing. The only thing I was doing on Sunday was watching Netflix. Now Hi Bye Mama is on it's 15th episode and I was weeping and wailing watching it. I almost got a migraine because I was awake the whole night watching #TogetherAtHome concert from 2am up till 10am. I cried the whole concert because I'm sensitive like that, after the concert, I showered, had lunch and continue with Hi Bye Mama where I continued to cry for another hour. So yeah, my Sunday was filled with tears.

Monday (20th April 2020)

I've been waiting for my damn mirror to arrive for 2 weeks now. So, I decided to contact the seller and I'm so upset with the response I got. They said they have to shut their factory down because the cops already issued them with warning for operating during MCO. Apparently they're not part of the essential industry or whatever. I know and I don't really care about that but they only being instructed to shut down on 15/4 but I ordered my stuff 10 days before. So, you mean to tell me that you've been doing nothing with my order? When I asked for an update the first time, you said you're processing it? Urgh thank God I'm a chill customer, or else you'll get your ass whoop!

Tuesday (21st April 2020)

Still waiting for another parcel to arrive. My safi serum is almost finished and I bought something on Lazada and I really hope it'll arrive before my serum finished. I don't want to be missing a step in my skincare routine. I need this skin to be wrinkle free. I hate aging! Plus, this MCO really got me stepping up my cooking game. I mean I can now cook some decent meal. Except for that unfortunate banana fritters incident. I don't want to talk about that but just know that the banana disappeared after I fried them. Magic? Who knows.

Wednesday (22nd April 2020)

My friend just shared with me a website to watch the latest movies online. I mean I don't really watch movies like that no more because I prefer to watch movies at the cinema because: 1) I can't really focus and it sucks to watch movies on a small screen. 2) The sound system is not a immersive like the cinemas and lastly 3) These people been working hard to make this movie and I'm pay them for their handwork okay. But since the MCO is in session and I can't go out and watch movies, I have to watch them illegally. So I watched Guns Akimbo today and you can read my review here. Other than, I did pretty much nothing.

Thursday (23rd April 2020)

Finally my Hada Labo serum/essence are here! Actually, a bunch of my skincare stuffs are finished and as I'm restocking them, I've changed a few products just to see if they're any better. So, now I've switched my Safi Rania Gold serum to Hada Labo and my Safi Rania Gold Water to Loreal Revitalift water. I've been using and practicing anti-aging skincare routine for almost 10 years now. I first started when I was 20. My friends know how obsessed I am with anti-aging products and they were laughing at me back then telling me why am I acting like a crazy old person. Well, looking at their wrinkles now, I really don't mind being laughed at back then because who's laughing now? Us! but minus the wrinkles for me.

Friday (24th April 2020)

First day of Ramadan, not much of a different because we're under MCO. Plus, I've been fasting for few days prior to Ramadan so I'm kinda used to it by now. What I love about this new place is I can finally cook decent meals instead of eating out. So for our very first Iftar, me and my housemate cooked some chicken rice and 'murtabak maggi' on the side. I wanted to make soya cincau but we could find any soya nearby. I mean the only different this year is that there's no Ramadan bazar and I want my 'Tepung Pelita Paya Jaras' so bad. Those cold ones!

Saturday (25th April 2020)

You know, I really miss the excitement of having to rest and do nothing on the weekend. Now that we're under MCO for over a month now, everyday seems like a weekday. It's Saturday and I don't know what to do, usually I'll go out having lunch or window shopping, sewing, watching Netflix and what not. Now the weekends feel just like every other day. Done watching RuPaul's Drag Race and done writing a review on that episode. Now what? I feel like this Ramadan will go by quickly because you can't really tell the time anda day right now.

It has been a weird month so far and especially with the MCO in session. I'm really really confused as to what day it was and what I should be doing at a certain time but I'm living life. Hopefully this will all be over soon and we can continue to live our life like we should. Hope all of you guys are doing okay and just give me a ring if you feel like talking to someone. I'm always happy to talk.

P/S: I mean don't call me, just text. I suck at taking calls!

10 views0 comments
bottom of page