top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFaiz Faisal

ILLUMINAKING: Inspiration Vs Stealing


I used to think that it is okay to copy things and claim it is my own work. Then when I was studying I learned about plagiarism and what not. I learned how to use other people's work as a source on something that you're working on. I learned about citation and what not to make sure we are crediting the hard work of other people. I wasn't able to relate much back then because I wasn't doing any content at the moment.but now that I'm working as a content developer, I truly understand how it affect the content creators when all of their hard works were stolen from them.

I may not be a great content developer but I've got a fair share of having my original content copied by others. These big organizations and influential people been scooping content from people like me and got all the credits while us the content creator were not being recognized. For me personally, I feel very demotivated to create new content when things like happened. As much as I love creating content, I'm just a normal human who needs to be validated and recognized for the work I've put in. The least they could do is just being honest on where the inspiration comes from.

I know it is hard to tell what is original nowadays because how unique can you be? We recycled the same ideas everyday and most of us will try to put our own spin to the same ideas and when you just scooped someone else's work and claimed it as yours, that is stealing and it is not cool. We're not looking for monetary compensation or anything. Just credit the original source so others can appreciate the creators hard work. It is upsetting to see big names be scooping up these smaller creators ideas and make it their own. It just broke my heart.

So please, the next time you're using someone's content as yours, do credit them and not steal. Give shoutout to thos who has been your insporation in creating something new. Thank you

P/S: My content is not much but it is still something I've worked hard for.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page