top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFaiz Faisal

Week In Review: 1/3 of Ramadan


I can say last week has been a very decent week after a long while. I'm not sure why but I have a feeling that it was because I received lots of parcels last week. Also I made quite a few new friends thanks to Tinder and I've been cooking a lot for Iftar and cooking is kinda therapeutic too. If you follow me on Instagram, you'll see that me and my housemate have been cooking everyday for Iftar and it was nothing fancy but it was a decent meals for us singles. What surprised me was that, the food actually tasted good. Not to blow my own horn but it was. I feel like I'm going to eat more home cooked food even after this MCO ends.

Now we're already at 1/3 of Ramadan and honestly, I feel like this year's Ramadan is very humbling and there's a lot that we can actually learn from it. This year's Ramadan will definitely a Ramadan to remember! I've read that with no bazar operating, there's less food wastage and pollution. This is truly something we might not experience again. Okay now let's see why last week was such a decent week for me:

Sunday (26th April 2020)

I went to sleep around 2 am the day before because I was re-watching Hi Bye Mama with my housemate but my eyes can't take it anymore so I stopped at episode 5 and went to bed. Woke up for sahur and went back to sleep until around noon. Woke up and continue binging on Hi Bye Mama before I went to buy some groceries for the coming week. So far we've been stocking up our groceries from Max Value nearby but I really want to go to a proper wet market because supermarket doesn't really have all the fresh goods that I want. The squid was like RM4.60 per 100g and it was like the size of a kraken, how much it will cost me?

Monday (27th April 2020)

Work from home as usual, woke up at 8 am just in time for the con-call with my colleagues. Since I've prepared most of my social media visuals the week before, so today I was on the internet looking for inspiration and let me tell you this, researching is hard work. Sometimes you feel like you know what you're looking for to create a good content but suddenly you feel like the content has been overdone and now you need to find something else. I really hate when that happened because when your brains started to feel like the job is done, but now you need to think again.

Tuesday (28th April 2020)

Well well well, it was nothing and in fact this was the 2nd time in a row. I've never experienced this before but I feel like someone need to step up their game. I know there are lots of excuses they can come up with and I need to know what are the excuses. I need my salary and I need it on time.I have bills to pay and most of my bill cut out dates are a day after salary day. I really hate it when all these people be calling me reminding to pay my bills. I don't like that because it makes me feel incompetent when the fact that others who are causing the delay! I was planning on buying groceries today and since I don't have my salary yet, so I need to beg from others for money first. God give me strength to face this test of mine!

Wednesday (29th April 2020)

My salary was still MIA and at this point of time. I'm just done hoping and just keep going with my life. I did my work as usual and watched a movie yet again. I watched this movie called Like A Boss and if you want to read my review on the movie, just click here. Today I cooked some oyster sauce chicken and 'terung goreng berlada' which is one of my favorite dishes. I mean anything 'goreng berlada' is my favorite.

Thursday (30th April 2020)

No news on my salary yet again but I'm a little happy today because my full length mirror is finally here! At least something that made me smile this week. Honestly I forgot what else did I bought in the last few weeks because I haven't been checking on my delivery status unless I really want that stuff. I think there are a few more stuff to come and one of them is my Son & Park Beauty Water. It has been almost 2 weeks now. Come on Zalora! Step your game up!

Friday (1st May 2020)

Finally my salary is here and I went out to buy more groceries. I really wanted to cook something else other than chicken but the seafood and meat produces are so expensive! I mean I don't have any other choices, I really want to go to the normal wet market where the seafood are much more cheaper.So for today's iftar, I cooked Ginger Chicken and that's about it because I overslept and woke up at 6 pm and I only had like 1 hour to prep and cook. The chicken was not even defrost yet and can you imagine? Oh yeah, now I started to watch this BL series and gosh I had diabetes from watching it too sweet for me.

Saturday (2nd May 2020)

After almost a month of not driving out of Bangsar, I finally did it. I just want to drive and clear my head and stuff. I don't even got out of my car and luckily there was no roadblock and I was so relieved to get to drive again. Today I cooked some meals for someone, I cooked 'ayam masak kicap' and 'terung goreng berlada' but the chili paste used for the terung recipe tasted weird and it made my 'terung goreng berlada' taste weird too. There goes my reputation!

So I think last week went pretty much okay other than the fact that I didn't get my salary on time. Also I received a call about retrenchment from my company and I had a bad feeling about it so if any of you know any vacancy for content creator/Social Media/Marketing please let me know!

How was your first leg of 2020 Ramadan been?

P/S: I'm not sad by the news.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page