top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFaiz Faisal

Au Revoir Paris and Hello L.A!


Purple Hue background with Blog Title

The Summer Olympics are always a spectacular global event, and the Paris 2024 Olympics were no exception. For me, the highlights of this year’s Olympics were filled with moments of pride, nostalgia, and anticipation for the future. As we reflect on the incredible events that took place in Paris, I can’t help but look forward to the excitement that awaits us in LA 2028.


A Unique Opening Ceremony with a Personal Highlight

The opening and closing ceremonies have always been my favorite events of the Olympics. They set the tone for the entire event and bring together athletes from all over the world in a grand display of unity and celebration. This year, the Paris 2024 opening ceremony took a different approach with a boat parade on the Seine River. It was undoubtedly unique, offering a picturesque view of Paris like we’ve never seen before in an Olympic ceremony. However, I must admit that it lacked the excitement that comes from the cheers of spectators in a packed stadium. There’s something magical about the roar of the crowd that was missing this time around.


Despite that, the real highlight for me was seeing Lady Gaga, my Mother Monster, being part of the opening ceremony. Her presence added a special touch that made the ceremony unforgettable for me. It was a moment of pride and joy, blending my love for the Olympics with my admiration for her.


Pride for Team Malaysia and Southeast Asia

As always, my excitement was centered around watching my home team, Team Malaysia. I eagerly followed every event they participated in, cheering them on with pride. Although we didn’t bring home any gold medals this year, I’m still incredibly proud of our athletes. They gave their all, and that’s what truly matters.


Apart from Team Malaysia, I was also thrilled to see my fellow Southeast Asian teams compete. It was a proud moment to witness some of them winning golds for their countries. It just goes to show that Southeast Asia has the talent and determination to shine on the global stage. We Southeast Asian countries definitely have what it takes!


The Drama and Togetherness of the Olympics

This year’s Olympics weren’t without their share of drama. From concerns about the cleanliness of the Seine River for the triathlon to various gender-related issues, there were certainly some controversies. But this is the Olympics—an event where countries with different values and cultures come together to compete. It’s natural for such issues to arise, given the diversity of the participants.


Despite the drama, what I truly enjoyed was the spirit of togetherness that the Olympics fostered. Especially during the medal matches for Malaysia, there was a palpable sense of excitement and unity among Malaysians. It was a reminder of how sports can bring people together, transcending differences and creating moments of shared joy.


Anticipation for LA 2028

Looking ahead to the LA 2028 Summer Olympics, my excitement is already building. It’s Los Angeles, the heart of Hollywood, and I’m expecting an opening ceremony that will be nothing short of spectacular. With Hollywood’s flair for production, I’m sure the ceremony will be over the top, filled with unforgettable performances and visuals.


Of course, I’m also looking forward to seeing a stronger performance from Team Malaysia in LA 2028. I have high hopes that our athletes will continue to improve and make us proud on the world stage.


Cherishing Olympic Memories

The Olympics hold a special place in my heart because of the memories I have of watching the opening ceremony with my family, especially my late father. He was really into sports, and those moments we shared in front of the TV are some of my most cherished memories. That’s why I make it a point to watch the opening ceremony every time—it’s my way of keeping those memories alive and honoring the time we spent together.


Looking Forward to the Next Chapter

As the Paris 2024 Summer Olympics come to a close, I find myself filled with a mix of reflection and anticipation. The events in Paris were unique and memorable, with highlights that I’ll carry with me until the next Games. And as I look forward to LA 2028, I can’t wait to see what new memories and experiences the Olympics will bring. Here’s to the spirit of the Olympics and the moments that unite us all.

Comments


bottom of page