top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFaiz Faisal

Entertainment: 5 Most Anticipated Movies of 2024

2024 is upon us and apart from Hari Raya, other things that excite me are new movies and new music. So let's get into it and see my 5 most anticipated movies of 2024. First of all, before we start, I just want to say that I macam kecewa sikit this year because tak banyak original movies yang keluar. Mostly yang keluar this year are remakes, sequels, or prequels. That is why my list this time semua non-original movies. Maybe because we have already seen the movies before and we know what to expect kan. But anyway, as a movie buff, I'm excited for any movie yang coming out regardless.


Let's start my list below:


No 5: The Strangers: Chapter 1



I love the original movie and I think and also hoping that I'm going to love this one too. Home invasion is one of my favorite horror subgenres because the feeling of having a stranger roaming in your house wanting to hurt you is just bizarre. I can't tell much from the teaser but I feel like it's going to be a very straightforward home invasion movie with the main characters trying to survive the night. This movie will be sort of a remake and reboot of the franchise. It will serve as the first movie of a trilogy. The last movie in the franchise was 2018's The Stranger: Prey At Night, which I have a mixed feeling about but still enjoyed. This movie will be directed by Renny Harlin and starring Madelaine Petsch as Maya and Froy Gutierrez as Ryan, her fiancé.


No 4: Deadpool 3



One of the most talked about superhero movies ever. I mean after No Way Home and Multiverse of Madness. The audience deserves a proper multiversal movie and I think Deadpool 3 will give us that. But what I'm most excited about is the original X-Men actors who are going to make a comeback or an appearance in this movie. I hope they'll bring back Rebecca Romijin's Mystique because that is my Mystique (No shade to J-Law tho). I also just want to have a good time watching this movie and have closure on the original X-Men characters before they decide to bring new actors to play the new X-Men for the MCU.


No 3: Inside Out 2



This sequel is a must! I was so happy when they finally announced that they were going to make Inside Out 2. I mean we need to know how things are going with Riley now that she's grown and probably hit puberty. I'm so excited to see the dynamic between the existing emotions with the new emotions. The trailer only revealed Maya Hawk's Anxiety but we can expect many other new emotions such as Embarrassment, Ennui, and Envy. However, I'm a little bit upset that Mindy Kaling (Disgust) and Bill Hader (Fear) are not returning for the sequel.


No 2: Joker: Folie à Deux



Come on? It's Lady Gaga and of course, I'm going to be anticipating whatever movie she's in. What more when she's going to play the iconic Harley Quinn? She is going to kill this role and I'm pretty sure of that. Seeing all the still shots from the movie coming out late last year, I'm certain this is going to be another Oscar-nominated role for Lady Gaga. So, the movie picks up where the first Joker ended. Arthur Fleck who was sent to the Arkham Asylum will be treated by Dr Harleen Quinzel and that's how the tragic love story of the Joker and Harley Quinn begins. I heard that this is going to be musical which I honestly don't know how to feel about that. But I guess we'll see.


No 1: Godzilla X Kong: The New Empire



I've been a fan of Godzilla since the tragic Hollywood remake back in 1998. At the time I honestly thought that Godzilla was a bad-ass monster. Growing up I learned that Godzilla was originally from Japan and I started to venture into the original and fell more in love. 2014 Hollywood decided to give it another take and I was blown away since then. I watched Shin Godzilla back in 2016 and have yet to watch Godzilla Minus One. So far I've been loving all the Godzilla and Kong movies. Now that these two titans are teaming up to fight new threats, I'm so ready and seated to see these two fight side by side. You have no idea how many times I've watched the trailer and still get excited each time! The final clip where Godzilla and Kong charging toward whoever that's going to die in the movie gives me goosebumps. I'm so excited for my titans!


So, those are my 5 most anticipated movies of 2024. What are your most anticipated movies this year? Share in the comment.

ILLUMINAKING

-Since 2017-

©2017 by illuminaking. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page