top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFaiz Faisal

Fashion Friday: MET Gala 2024



Fashion enthusiasts worldwide will be seated this May 6 to witness one of the most anticipated events in fashion. "Sleeping Beauties: Reawakening Fashion" was announced in November last year as the 2024 Met Gala theme. Based on what we've seen brought to the ball years back, I'm excited to see where the designers will take this theme.


From what I understand, the theme is mainly focusing on reviving iconic looks and historic items in the institute's permanent collections. If that is so, I'm hoping to see a lot of classic silhouettes with a modern twist. AI technology is something fun to explore and gives us wearable electronics, textures, and motions. I wouldn't be expecting these celebrities to be coming down the carpet in literal pajamas with pillows stuck on their head. That would fit the 2019 theme though.


Just like many other designers who hope one day to see their creations walk the carpet of the MET Gala, I too have the same dream. I'm not saying I'm a designer, but as some of you may know, I create some of my looks, especially during Hari Raya. So I'm going to share with you 3 of the looks I've sketched inspired by this year's MET Gala theme (kind of?).



I love me some puff moment! For this look, I'm inspired by smoke. Does it fit the theme? I don't know but what I do know is, that people tend to throw away the old stuff or even burn them. So, I guess this is the outcome of burning your old designer dress?



Rise and shine! Sheer dress is overrated at the MET but I'm not hating it. I sketched this sunshine bright sheer dress because somehow this year, I'm into yellow.



To be honest, I can be into any colors that are in season but there is only one color that remains supreme to me, which is black. So why don't we have a black number with a splash of my current obsession?


So that's all I was able to whip up in two days and if I were to realize all my sketches. God knows how long it will take. Till next time!

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

ILLUMINAKING

-Since 2017-

©2017 by illuminaking. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page