top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFaiz Faisal

Foodgasm: Kerabu Belangkas


I'm known to try new stuff and new food but it really depends on how it looks. Belangkas or Horseshoe crab to me is an alien. It looks weird and scary because it doesn't have a face!

Or it does but I don't see it and it scares me. Plus, it has lots of legs and I just don't like things that crawl you know. So when I saw in the TV that people are eating Belangkas, I was shocked because what is there to eat? I don't think this living fossil has any meat and I am right.


People consume their eggs and it bothers me because sea creatures lays millions of eggs and there are so tiny and it looks "urgh" and I don't want to have those little eggs in my mouth! Anyway fast forward to 2021, I was celebrating my mom's birthday with my sister's family in Batu Pahat. My brother in law is known to eat very 'rare' food. So he ordered Kerabu Belangkas or Horseshoe Crab salad. It looks cute with all that salad on it but I doubt it will taste good.


My sister told me to have a taste but I refuse at first. But then I think to myself, I'm not going to order it myself next time so why not I just have a taste now. I took a spoonful of it at first at I saw those eggs and I think of it as micro boba because the color is somewhat the same. I put it in my mouth and I chewed. I was surprised that it tasted good! The texture was similar to that chewy boba but had this salty taste to it. It was a perfect combo!


Then from not wanting to eat it, I finished it. It was so good and such a great first time. But I'm not sure if it will taste as good if they were cooked as other dishes. I heard they even have Asam Pedas Belangkas. I don't know but I feel like I might give it a try.


Let's take a look at the Kerabu Belangkas that I had days before. Yummy!


My sister called it 'Kerabu Predator' cause it looks like the Predator. So have you tried Belangkas before? Would you try it?


P/S: Luckily I'm not a picky eater.



47 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page