top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFaiz Faisal

From Darkness to Light: Navigating Mental Health and Finding New Beginnings


Navigating Mental Health and Finding New Beginnings

Hello everyone!


Yes, I am back after so long (three whole months). To be honest, I really missed writing and sharing my stories. But as much as I love being online, I really needed time to rest my mind. Mental health matters!


For those who didn’t know, I was diagnosed with mild depression and severe anxiety back in 2020, the year the earth stood still. My mental health had already been unstable before 2020, but the pandemic put the cherry on top. Plus, I was laid off and got into a new job that was ten times worse than before, and I had to resign just two weeks into it. After that, I got another job that required a lot of human interaction and dealing with people. I tried my best to keep it together, but a human can only put up with so much. I broke down and was almost suicidal, but I didn’t tell anyone about it other than my counselor and doctor.


I went to therapy and counseling for a year in 2022, and alhamdulillah, I felt a lot better. After I finished my final counseling session, I got a job offer with TikTok. Everything was going smoothly until earlier this year when I got some sad news. After TikTok Malaysia’s management restructuring, I was one of the many unfortunate people who got laid off. I was jobless for two months between March and April. During that time, I tried to keep myself busy with this blog, but I let things get the best of me. I was sad and nervous about my future.


I tried to stay positive the whole time, but it was hard. However, I’m glad that I was still able to control myself much better than the first time around. All I had to do was have faith. No matter what your belief is, the most important thing is to have faith. Have faith in God, the universe, the stars, or whatever you think will help you. If you believe that you can help yourself, then have faith in you.


That is what I was doing during the three months I was away from this blog and online. I did still update my socials, but not as frequently as I used to. During those three months, I got to see what I could do and what I could achieve when I put everything in God’s hands. I believe that He wouldn’t put me in this position if I wasn’t able to handle it. Alhamdulillah, I secured a new job, and now I’m trying to familiarize myself with a routine I once had, which is social media management.


The job is nothing new to me, but the role is. Now that I’m a social media manager, of course, I will be doing more than just brainstorming ideas. I need to manage a lot of things now, and I know I can do it because God wouldn’t give me this opportunity if I weren’t capable of doing it.


Alhamdulillah, I feel a lot better now, and it happens to be my birthday month, so yeah. Here’s to a better, brighter future! Amin.

4 views0 comments

ILLUMINAKING

-Since 2017-

©2017 by illuminaking. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page