top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFaiz Faisal

Let's Talk About: Giving Chances



How many chances sorang tu patut dapat? Honestly, there is no definite answer because it really comes down to our situation and the person we are with. If it is up to us, mestilah kita nak dapat sebanyak chances yang kita boleh right? But the world wasn't built as such, chances do not come and given often. So macam mana kita manfaatkan peluang yang diberi adalah penentu untuk lebih banyak lagi peluang yang akan diberikan.


Let's put this into work perspective. I know kalau bab-bab kerja ni, chances are rarely given out because to most, giving you a job is already a chance and sadly for most as well, it's the only chance given and gotten. Once you dah dapat kerja, itulah satu-satunya peluang untuk you tunjukkan kebolehan you and if you tak boleh buat kerja, then that's it for you. No more chances will be given. But pernah tak kita terfikir untuk bagi peluang to someone to explore something else?


Sepanjang bekerja for almost 10 years ni, one of my principles is everyone deserves as many chances as possible. Why? Sebab people are learning and growing. To me, no one can ever be certain about life. Mungkin now you will say, "Yes, I want to be an HR personnel for the rest of my life". But what if one day you fall sick and get into an accident and you're no longer able to do office work? Wouldn't you have a chance to rebuild your life by doing something that you can with what you have?


My experience being managed and managing people helped me to realize that chances are very important in life, especially work. I've been in a situation where I was told I'm not good at what I'm doing but I wasn't given a chance to explore other things and I was told to leave. But when I got to another company, I managed to do my job very well because my manager at the time trusted me and gave me a chance to do what I did best.


That's why when it was my turn to manage people, I always told myself to give people a chance to explore and see what their strengths are. I'm a firm believer in individuality and I also believe that everyone has their part to do in this world. So, I want to give them a chance to do things their way while reaching the same goal.


But that's not always the case lah, for the majority of my working experience. My managers only want things to be done their way. For those who are like-minded, for sure will have a joyful time getting the work done but for the rest? It was a living hell. Picture this, a crocodile (manager) asking their team consisting of a fish, cat, cow, and a sheep to swim down the stream to get the gold and you cannot do anything else but swim to get the gold because the crocodile is used to swimming down the stream. So, who do you think will be able to get the job done?


If only the crocodile had given the liberty and chances to the cat, cow, and sheep to walk alongside the stream, wouldn't they be able to get the job done too? Sometimes is it not because you were bad at your job but because you weren't given the chance to explore other possibilities to get the job done and that is not your fault.


Does this sound familiar to you? Were you the cat, cow, and sheep in your work or were you the crocodile in work?


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

ILLUMINAKING

-Since 2017-

©2017 by illuminaking. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page