top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFaiz Faisal

Movie Review: The Crow



Going into the 2024 reboot of The Crow, I didn’t have any expectations or prior knowledge of the original film series or comic book source material. So, I had nothing to compare it to. That being said, I still found myself underwhelmed, even with the blank slate I gave it. I’ve seen Bill Skarsgård in other roles, and while I know he can deliver some seriously intense performances, this one just didn’t hit the mark for me.


Skarsgård’s portrayal of Eric, aka The Crow, felt pretty one-dimensional. There wasn’t much depth to the character, and I kept getting distracted by how much his makeup reminded me of Pennywise from IT. Maybe that’s because of Bill’s previous iconic role, but it just didn’t feel right here. It’s like there was potential, but it never really materialized into something more compelling.


As for FKA Twigs as Shelly, I have to be honest—I think she should stick to her music career. Her performance felt stiff, and there was little emotional connection between her and Skarsgård’s character. I couldn’t feel any real chemistry, and for a movie where the revenge plot revolves around their relationship, that was a huge issue. If she wants to pursue acting, I could see her doing well in period dramas like Bridgerton, but as Shelly, she just didn’t click for me.


Visually, the movie was dark and gory, which I assume fits the vibe of the original material, but at times it felt like I was watching John Wick in eyeliner. The gothic aesthetic was definitely there, but the focus on metaphors and artistic visuals seemed to overshadow the plot. The storyline got lost in the beauty of the visuals, and even the action sequences lacked the punch they should’ve had. For a character who’s seeking revenge, I didn’t feel the intensity or rage from Eric. Honestly, John Wick seeking revenge for his dog felt more powerful than Eric avenging his girlfriend’s death.


The soundtrack was also a bit all over the place for me. It didn’t leave a lasting impact or complement the movie in any memorable way. But again, I can’t compare it to the original, as I’m unfamiliar with it.


Overall, I’m giving The Crow (2024) a 3 out of 10. I think I’m being generous because I have a soft spot for Bill Skarsgård, but even his presence couldn’t save this movie for me. The villain didn’t help the plot either—it all just felt flat. I don’t see this reboot spawning any sequels, and speaking of reboots, I’d rather see an updated version of Spawn than another Crow film at this point. What a disappointing experience.

Commentaires


bottom of page