top of page
Search
Sherry Wise

Netflix and Chill: The Call


When I first saw the title, I was reminded of the 2013 Halle Berry's movie of the same name. I thought this was going to be a Korean remake but I realized that Korean doesn't do Hollywood remake. So I watched the trailer and I'm intrigued. Though I was also briefly reminded of another Hollywood movie called The Lake House which happened to be a remake of a Korean movie called II Mare.


If you haven't seen The Lake House or II Mare, the movie is about to person living in the same house at two separate points in time, two years apart to be exact. Both of them however can communicate with each other through a mailbox in front of their house. So I think The Call kinda has the same premises where both characters are living in the same house but at a different point in time and able to communicate with each other through a cordless phone.


I don't want to go into details because I don't really want to spoil anything. But despite it being a movie that I've sort of seen before, I must say that the characters in this movie make this movie great. I mean it's Park Shin Hye for god sake, she is like one of the most celebrated actresses in Korea, and Jeon Jong Seo as Oh Young Sook is just brilliant. They made you fell in love with both characters at first and as the movie progress, you feel like you're running out of breath and feeling so frustrated for the protagonist. I mean the feeling of not having control over your own life. How frustrating is that?


But you wouldn't understand what frustration is until you watched the whole thing. I was left with many questions and I hate that it ended that way. I'm devastated with the ending! Nonetheless, The Call is a good movie to watch and I must say that Korean does make great movies and for not being able to go out and watch any at the cinema. The Call really gave me that action-thriller satisfaction. I really really love this movie and I'm giving it 5/5 Stars. Please watch this movie!


9 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page