top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFaiz Faisal

Obsessed: Horror Movies




If I have to choose one movie genre to watch for the rest of my life, it will be horror! My exposure to horror movies started very early in my life. Ingat lagi zaman-zaman video tape and laser disc dulu yang kita boleh sewa je tu kan. So my father usually akan pergi sewa lah and I akan ikut sekali nak pergi pilih movies. I remember I was so intrigued when I saw the laser disc cover cerita Dead-Alive. Sebab poster dia ada gambar perempuan buka mulut guna tangan dia and dalam mulut dia ada tengkorak. I asked my father to rent that movie but my father said cerita tu bukan untuk budak-budak. I was upset but my father did sewa cerita Lion King kot for me.


Tapi I did watch all the classic horror movies when I was a kid sebab when the adults were not around, I would turn the video player on and secretly watch them. One of the scariest horror movies that I've watched back then was the original Evil Dead. Mind you I was about 7 or 8 at the time and I scared the shit out of me but still watching. Another traumatizing horror movie I watched was Sundel Bolong. That movie was scary as hell back in the day. When I watched it again, I was like "Why was this so scary back then? Sekarang ni tengok dah macam tengok cerita Senario".


My fascination for horror movies doesn't stop there. I also habitually reenact the most memorable scenes in the movies I've watched. I love to scare myself when I'm alone and one time, I was home alone and I decided to watch Ju-On. After I finished the movie, I walked into my room and slowly opened my closet while I made the cracking Ju-On sound effect and jumped into the closet as if I had been pulled in by Kayako. I stayed inside the closet for a good 10 minutes and then jumped back out gasping for air. It was lots of fun when I was doing it and now it seems like there's something wrong in my head when I'm retelling it at this moment. Biasa lah eh budak-budak kuat berangan.


But yeah, I also love to see people get spooked. Sebab tu I suka bawa kawan-kawan or my family to go watch horror movies in the cinema. But don't get me wrong, I pun bukan lah berani sangat and to be honest, I ni jenis yang mudah terkejut. But why do I love horror movies so much? Entah lah tapi perasaan takut tu dia macam adrenaline rush orang main extreme sports tau tak? Macam tu lah rasa dia. Also because I know it's only a movie and that is also why I can enjoy the movie and not get carried away as if it will happen in real life. Sebab tu juga lah I love to lakon semula scene-scene tu sebab I know it will never happen.


Anyway, I hope this will give you an idea of why I love horror movies and why it means so much to me. Am I sick in the head sebab suka rasa takut? I don't know let's ask the audience. But before I end this post, I just nak bagitau yang I tengah menulis my own horror story. I'm thinking about publishing it as a series but we'll see how first.

ILLUMINAKING

-Since 2017-

©2017 by illuminaking. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page