top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFaiz Faisal

RPDR 16 RuCap: Episode 1




The wait is over and the first episode of season 16 is finally upon us! After naming my top 4 from my first impression during the cast Ruveal and then changing it after watching the queens' interviews with Joey last year, I think I will make another change after the first episode. But it's best to wait after episode two I guess.


Okay, now the first episode started with Q being the first queen entering the werkroom and she is looking fabulous! Being a designer, it is pretty much expected from her. Next, we have Xunami Muse, the daughter of Kandy Muse and when I tell you she is her mother's daughter, you can hear her laugh. That's a Muse woman's laugh right there!


The third queen coming in is Amanda Tori Meating, clever name but girl that neckline on her breast-plate? A no-no for me. Next comes Morphine Love Dion. I mean her mug says it all! I think she has one of if not the best mugs ever grace the competition. She is shady and she is spicy, I love it.


The fifth queen walking into the werkroom is Sapphira Cristal. She's giving us a spook with her opera voice the minute she walked in. Love her energy and that slow-mo pose? Iconic! Then walking in right after is the legs of Las Vegas, Mirage! Her look is campy and I get her, she is quirky, chaotic, and silly. She seems like a lot of fun. Lastly, completing the 7 queens for the first premiere is Dawn. She is cute as a button but when they switch to her confessional, I think this queen got a mouthful. She is shady and says whatever her heart feels. No wonder the queens unanimously said she is the villain of the season during their interviews.


Now let's talk about the first impression of the queens on their confessionals. I honestly think this time around the queens are a lot more open and honest in saying what they're thinking and I feel like even in the first episode with the first 7 queens, there's already drama! Morphine Love Dion is the shadiest queen so far, and I love her for that! I honestly thought we were getting double premiere episodes like All Stars 8 but I guess they want to stretch this season out like All Stars 8? I hope not because that season was way too long and it felt even longer than Season 13.


Okay, move on to the season, the first ever mini challenge was hilarious and I think most of the girls do have the funny bones in them this year. Congrats to Sapphira for winning the first mini-challenge and now let's talk about the main challenge which is the MTV Spring Break Talent Show. Right off the gate, my top 3 performances of the night are Mirage, Sapphira, and Dawn. Q is funny but it is not my cup of tea. The rest for me were there and yeah nothing much other than just dance and lipsync. To be honest, I thought Mirage would be top 2 because that click-clacking striper heels number is fierce! I would put her in the top 2 with Sapphira.


Let's move on to the runway and the category is Ruveal yourself. If you have been a fan of the show, this category is pretty self-explanatory. My top 3 looks of the night are Mirage, Q, and Dawn. I like Amanda's idea but the execution is a bit meh for me. Now this season (for the first two episodes only I think) Rupaul introduces Rate-A-Queen where the queens will rate each other based on whatever they have in mind. Of course, as an audience, I would like to rate the queens as well, and below are my ratings based on how good I think their talent shows are + their runway presentations.


  1. Sapphira Cristal

  2. Mirage

  3. Q

  4. Dawn

  5. Morphine Love Dion

  6. Amanda Tori Meating

  7. Xunami Muse


But before that, can we talk about how Mirage just only realizes what Amanda's name stands for? Mirage being clueless just earns her another point in my book. So the actual top 2 for episode one are Sapphira and Q. They both lipsync to Queen Bey's Break My Soul and honestly Sapphira deserves that win because she is up there entertaining us. I mean Q did a great job too but I feel like for an upbeat song, you need to play with the energy of the song but Q was giving me Pearl on season 7 where she lipsync against Trixie Mattel. Very much that!


So we are done with episode one and how are we feeling so far? I feel like is kinda early to tell but girl did Sapphira give us all in the first episode! She is a final 4 material for me. What about you guys? Who are your favorite in the first episode and are you excited for this season?

Recent Posts

See All

ILLUMINAKING

-Since 2017-

©2017 by illuminaking. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page