top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFaiz Faisal

Song Of The Week: Birthday - Katy Perry



This song was released 10 years ago, and whenever I listen to it, it takes me back to when I first heard it. Yes, today is my birthday, and I'm turning 33 this year! How time flies, right?


Today, I want to take the opportunity to express my gratitude for how my life has turned out so far. Reflecting on where I was 10 years ago, I didn’t think I’d survive. There have been ups and downs, and being me, I remember everything very vividly. Just like I mentioned earlier, I can still remember the moment I first listened to this song 10 years ago.


At that time, I was so eager to put myself out there and wanted to know as many people as I could. I was trying so hard to be seen, and honestly, it was exhausting. But I believe that whatever I’ve done in the past was meant to be done so that I could become the person I am today.


I’m not saying that I’m a totally different person from who I was 10 years ago, but I definitely feel much calmer now. I still get upset easily, but nowadays, I just keep myself busy and the sadness eventually fades away. Maybe it’s because I’m older and have a lot of other commitments besides spending time dwelling on why I’m upset.


But! This is a big but! I don’t recommend suppressing your feelings. We are allowed to feel whatever we are feeling, and we must find a proper way to deal with it. For me, how I handle my feelings varies depending on what they are. When I’m excited, I usually get creatively inspired. When I’m upset, I feel like sorting things out by cleaning the house, rearranging the furniture, and doing other chores. And so on.


So yeah, I’m 33 this year, and there’s nothing I want more than to be inspired every day of my life to come. I just want all of us to be content and happy with life.


Hopefully, I will get to see 34.

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page