top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFaiz Faisal

Song Of The Week: Whatever - Kygo & Ava Max



I love it when artists give a new take on classic hits. I think Ava Max and Kygo are the few who often did it and they did it well. I didn't know what to expect from this song actually but when the chorus came up I was like "It's about time people gave Mother Shakira a respectful tribute". I didn't expect anything less from both Kygo and Ava Max because have you listened to what Kygo did to Higher Love and Hot Stuff? Brilliant! Ava Max? She had done hit after hit by sampling classics like My Head & My Heart, Kings & Queens, and Not Your Barbie Girl. So it's about time both of them work together on Shakira's Whenever, Wherever!


The song also gives me the early 2010 vibes both the song and the music videos. So it gives me a little throwback and I got to reminisce about my younger days and think how fun it was back in the days. I almost had tears listening to this song, not because of the lyrics. But the nostalgia behind the aesthetic and sound.


Now let's about the lyrics. This song is about moving on I guess and just how two people that weren't meant to be together. But talking from experience, you can hate someone so much in the heat of an argument but after spending certain times together with someone, no matter how bad the relationship was and how much you hate the person. Parting ways are never easy. Of course, you would say you're glad you are out of the relationship, but none of you would be able to forget about the good times you've had together.


So it's okay to miss a certain someone or the memories even though you're no longer together. We are human after all and human has feelings right.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

ILLUMINAKING

-Since 2017-

©2017 by illuminaking. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page