top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFaiz Faisal

Spinning Out of Control: My Battle with Vertigo


A girl feeling dizzy

Living with vertigo feels like being on a never-ending merry-go-round, except there’s nothing merry about it. It started back when I was in school, a faint dizziness that I could usually brush off. But now, in my 30s, it's become a persistent intruder in my life.


Just last week, while I was diligently working, I almost toppled off my chair. One moment I was fine, and the next, the room started spinning with such intensity that I had to clutch the edge of my desk to steady myself. It was terrifying. This time, I suspect the trigger was light, but honestly, it feels like it could be anything.


The unpredictability is one of the worst parts. There’s no warning, no time to brace myself. One minute I’m okay, and the next, I’m caught in a whirlwind of dizziness that leaves me disoriented and scared. The sensation can be overwhelming, and it's a constant reminder that my body can betray me at any moment.


I often find myself hoping that I’ll get better with time. Maybe it’s wishful thinking, but it’s a hope I cling to. The idea of going to the doctor fills me with dread. I’m scared to find out what’s really going on. What if it’s something serious? What if it’s something I can’t handle?


But at the same time, I know I can’t keep ignoring it. Each episode is a stark reminder that I need to confront this. I need to find out what’s causing it and how to manage it better. Because living in fear of the next dizzy spell isn’t really living.


For now, I take it day by day. I avoid known triggers, like certain lights and sudden movements, and try to stay as balanced as possible, both physically and mentally. It’s a struggle, but I’m determined to keep going, to keep fighting for a life not dominated by vertigo.


If you’re reading this and you can relate, know that you’re not alone. It’s okay to be scared, but it’s also okay to seek help. We deserve to understand our bodies and to find ways to live our lives to the fullest, without the constant fear of falling.

1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page