top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFaiz Faisal

Throwback Thursday: Malaysia World's First Flops


I remember back then I was so excited about all the mega projects in Malaysia. I mean I still am excited now but I haven't been talking about it as much. I'm really into town planning, architecture and what not. I'm always excited and curious about where is the next tallest building will be built, where is the biggest mall, where is the longest highway and whatever. I also remember the excitement I had few years back when Malaysia announced two of the most exciting projects ever.


At that time, I feel like Malaysia is going to be the next Singapore or even better than. Malaysia was supposed to be the house of the two first international mega projects. Malaysia should have been the house to the first 20th Century Fox Theme Park and also the world's first Harrod's High End Hotel. Just read on how excited I was when I heard about all these news in this post which I wrote on 29th July 2013.


"Assalamualaikum readers, so have you heard the news? Genting Highland First World theme park will say goodbye to all of us Malaysian forever this 1st September. Don’t be sad just yet, the theme park will be replaced with the world's first 20th Century Fox theme park. Can you believe that? During the first quarter of this year we also received another news where Malaysia will be the first to have Harrods’s High End Hotel in Kuala Lumpur. How crazy is that? I’m so proud on how Malaysia has evolved in becoming a world class tourist destination. Apart from that, Malaysia is also the house for the first Legoland in Asia and the first country to have Hello Kitty theme park outside Japan. I’m in love with Malaysia even more now and I hope to see many more development in Malaysia soon. so fellow Malaysian, are you guys excited about the news?"


Look at how excited and hopeful I was with all the great news. As mentioned, at that time we are already the house for Asia's first Legoland and also the first Hello Kitty Town outside of Japan. But now, one of them already closed down while the other is not doing very well.


I'm just curious of what really happened with all these amazing projects? How did Malaysia failed to maintain these projects? I mean what really happened? I really need to know because this is unacceptable.


P/S: Keep your promise.


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page