top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFaiz Faisal

AF Megastar : Congratulations Idayu


Hi Everybody, well I can say that I'm a reality TV freak. I enjoy watching almost every reality TV shows on this planet. Be it singing competition, model search (my personal favourite), cooking competition, KUWTK and anything that involves fashion like Project Runway. In Malaysia, reigning as the longest running singing reality TV competition (is that how you say it? I don't know). Akademi Fantasia is the show where you feel like you have had enough of it but still grabs a popcorn and watch it whenever the new season airs.

So this year, Astro decided to have an All-stars season of Akademi Fantasia and it goes by the name AF Megastar. Honestly, I was waiting for this to happen like years back even before they decided to kill AF back in 2011? and quickly resurrected in 2013. (just like how American Idol and America's Next Top Model were also killed and Frankensteined back to TV screen).

Long story short (Because I don't have much to say actually). When Astro first announced the top 24 for AF Megastar and I saw Idayu as one of the top 24. I knew that she was going to win this (Not that I'm a psychic). After she was eliminated early in her original season in 2005 (AF3). I keep myself updated with her activities and gwurlllll she can definitely sing. known as Malaysian Mariah Carey, Her powerhouse vocal is top notch and have a class of its own. Her weekly performance on the show was nearly flawless. She even got a standing ovation from one of the judges. In fact, she was the only contestant to get such recognition. Now that she already won the AF Megastar title, lets hope her career will blossom and she can soon stands equally among other great singers locally and globally (can I get an Amen up in here?)

Apart from that, My girl Marsha Milan also didn't disappoint. She is the type of performer where I'll go to her every live shows and will definitely have a good time. She really know how to give a spectacular shows. The visual is there and the vocal is there and what else can you ask for? (For her to at least won second place dear God). But I'm glad that she won best performance courtesy of D'Herbs. To the other finalist, you guys did great too and I wish you all the best for your future.

To all Idayu's supporters, I hope that you all will continue to support her career so that it won't be short-lived. If you haven't watch her winning performance last night. Please enjoy the two songs performed by Idayu down below.

Idayu performing My All by Mariah Carey (Video by Idayu Whistlers)

Idayu performing her new single Selamanya (Video by Idayu Whistlers)

P/S: Let her be known as Idayu and not Malaysia's Mariah Carey okay ?

12 views0 comments
bottom of page