top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFaiz Faisal

News Flash: Utusan Terakhir


I'm not one of the people who actually read newspaper but arwah ayah was. So surat khabar dekat rumah tu berbukit-bukit sampai boleh kaya bila recyle tu semua arwah ayah yang beli. He was the only person I think in my family who actually love reading. I think one of my sisters read too but definitely not me.

So today is the last day for Utusan Malaysia, one of the many newspaper that my father used to read. It's kinda sad for people who actually read them but it for me it is more of the memory it brings me whenever I see a copy of Utusan Malaysia. I can straightaway picture my dad sitting on his chair with a cup of teh tarik or kopi next to him while flipping the pages through Utusan Malasyia. Now after 80 years of operation, Utusan Malaysia finally closes it's door.

Not sure if they'll continue to operate with the online platform but I'm sure going to be seeing the newspaper on the newstand or kedai-kedai runcit dekat kampung. I know it's going to sound weird but I'm kinda happy my dad is not here to witness all this, I mean, he would have been sad to see Utusan Malaysia close but ayah is in a better place now.

To those affected with the closure, I wish nothing but the best for you. Dengan keadaan sekarang yang susah nak cari kerja kan. Thank you Utusan Malaysia for being part of my dad's life and my memories.

(One of the biggest tragedy that struck Malaysia as reported on Mingguan Malaysia)

P/S: Look on the brightside, we are saving more trees right?

36 views0 comments
bottom of page